ARCHIVE 253 – ELEPHANT AT THE NGULIA WATERHOLE (MONO)

 

 

adl188bx
.

Elephant at the waterhole beside Ngulia Lodge in Tsavo West National Park, Kenya; probably the late 1970s.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

OM-1 with 75-150 Zuiko lens at 150mm; Agfa CT18 colour slide, rated at 64 ISO; converted to mono in Silver Efex Pro.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to ARCHIVE 253 – ELEPHANT AT THE NGULIA WATERHOLE (MONO)

  1. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful image, Adrian.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    I love elephants, they seem so slow, gentle and carefree. I wouldn’t like to upset one though. 😊

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, upsetting one can get extremely iffy. But, not upset, they were gentle, just walking quietly on past us – see comment reply below here. I remember them with a lot of affection. And I read that they could distinguish each person on a vehicle by smell, so maybe some of them, the ones I saw often, “knew” me – which is a nice thought. But not so nice at all is the thought that many of those I saw have most probably now been poached, I saw the results of that too, which were extremely grim. A

      Liked by 1 person

  3. krikitarts says:

    What an experience that must have been–no wonder you still cherish the memories so well!

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Oh..how wonderful it must have been to have seen wild elephants

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, it truly was wonderful, and I harbour a lasting affection for these huge animals. Especially in Amboseli National Park, at the foot of Kilimanjaro, where they have been studied for many decades, they are reasonable unfazed by human presence, and in my days taking clients on safari I would park my vehicle in front of an advancing column of them, and (my hand always on the ignition!) let them flow around us like water flowing around an island in a stream. Of course we all kept very still and quiet, and it was wonderful to be so close to these huge, calm, quiet beings. In one instance, one walked right up in front of us, and took some vegetation that had become entangled in our front bumper and ate it. But these were herds of females and young – confronting a solitary bull could be another experience altogether!

      Like

  5. great shot Adrian! I like the vintage look of it too!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

