PEOPLE 231 – GOING TO WORK 3

 

 

going-to-work-3
.
Having put out two posts this week mentioning Picasso (they can be found here and here), perhaps this image is a good one to show now.  But first, an admission of GUILT!!! >>>

Hahaha! well I have to hold my hands up here and admit that I’m making a virtue of necessity – this isn’t sharp (even by my standards!) and it never will be – but I do like the effect and hence here it is.

I was staggering around after early morning photography in town – which I always find a tiring place –  when a bus went by with this young woman in the window and I turned at it and fired – there was time for just one shot.  But whereas I’m sure my Nikons would have made a better job of this, the X-T1’s autofocus just wasn’t up to it …  a bad workman blaming his tools???  🙂  …  and here is the result.

But I like it nonetheless.  I’m somewhat into Paganism, not least because it is at ease with the concept of the sacred feminine, and this reminds me very much of images of women (and men) in Pagan literature, which either have branches and foliage sprouting from their heads, or are crowned with such greenery.

So, for better or for worse, here is something rather removed from the usual grey bus journey, the daily grind, into work.

There are two other, very different images in the Going To Work series here and here.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm; 800 ISO; Temple Gate, Bristol; 19 July 2016.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

24 Responses to PEOPLE 231 – GOING TO WORK 3

  1. Meanderer says:

    Yes – i see what you mean about surrounded by foliage. Her face has a purity about it. Very interesting image!

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    I can’t help thinking that one reason the image appeals, and reminds you of such mythic subjects, is that she’s OUT of focus – the softness is beautiful, and suits the image perfectly.
    The camera worked for you, I’d say!

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    I like it, Adrian. Impressionistic perhaps. And that inscrutable look that could mean so many things.

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    Her expression reflects how I used to feel back when I still had to go to work!

    Like

  5. It looks a little Monet-ish (Morning on the Seine) with a touch of Picasso. But what do I know. ❤️ ATP sing the the perpetual rain. Blah! Dreary here, bud.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh yes, Morning On The Seine, wonderful stuff! Thank you! Dreary here too today, bud, but tomorrow is apparently going to be better. Warm thoughts from me! ATP XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

      Like

  6. paula graham says:

    My friend, for me , that shot is fabulous…I just love it. Your Nikon would not have got is so artistic, unless you had the setting prepared for this kind of shot!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, you are absolutely right, the Nikons’ dead-eye speed and accuracy might well ruined this shot, that’s a very good point. As I’ve mentioned, the X-T1’s autofocus is its weakest point but, aside from that, I have to say that the X-T1 really has inspired me artistically, and I’m very grateful for that – its is a tremendous creative tool, and a very handy one too.

      I’m so glad that you like this shot, your views are always valued. xxx

      Like

  7. Sallyann says:

    Very pretty, I like the green crowning too.
    This is very much how I see the world… I catch an image with my eye in this world which moves to fast for me, and then it’s gone, leaving my imagination to fill in the blanks as the information travels to my brain. 😊

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hallysann, my good friend, thank you for your good thoughts! I’m very glad this struck a chord with you – filling in the blanks as you say must make for some pretty surreal visions! Recently, something similar has been happening to me too – thoughts just appear in my mind without any forethought or motivation. They come out of nowhere and there are sane and coherent – presumably, due to age, booze, both or then again a Smarties overdose, my ageing mind works without bothering to get through to “the essential moi”, and then just tells me what its done afterwards. Damn cheek!!! 😦 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sallyann says:

        Yours are good thoughts I hope.?
        And filling in the blanks can also lead to some very strange conversations, especially when three or four sentences in I realise I’m having a completely different conversation than the other person. 😊

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh yes they’re good thoughts, in fact I’m often taken aback by just how perceptive they are – I think, “Why didn’t I think of that?” when, it would appear, I just did. All very odd!

          Your conversations sound interesting to say the least >>> when you’re next up this way, we must meet for a chat! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  8. Great shot, Adrian. Feels like ‘under water’..

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

