ARCHIVE 247 – CANADA GEESE FLASH PAST AND I BLAST AWAY AT THEM (MONO)

 

 

fsk_167bx
.
Quite early on a beautiful summer’s morning – 27 Jul 2011 – I was daydreaming, far away but with camera in hand, at Heron’s Green, on the shores of Chew Valley Lake, Somerset.

Suddenly, from out of nowhere, nasal honking calls, a swish of wings, and Canada Geese were flashing, pell-mell, past me.  I’m getting too old for such surprises, but I just managed to haul up the snout of my faithful 300mm, jab my right thumb onto the D700’s autofocus button and hold it there – and I was immediately blasting away at individuals in this hurtling, feathered storm, panning wildly as they shot noisily past.

I had not the briefest moment in time in which to adjust the camera, not even to get it into motordrive (which might actually not be best in this sort of situation) – so I was blasting away at 1/30th second and f14 – hardly the ideal combination, and of course most of the shots are very blurred.  Not that I consider blur in photos to be a bad thing, far from it.

But, anyway, the central bird here is (possibly!) almost sharp, and I very much like the feeling of blur, speed and general flurry that the picture imparts.  I’ve converted it to mono to simplify it, in particular rendering the background far less obvious, and I’ve also toned the mono conversion.  The result is quite painterly I think, which is absolutely fine by me.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor lens at 300mm; 400 ISO; conversion to mono, including toning, in Silver Efex Pro.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to ARCHIVE 247 – CANADA GEESE FLASH PAST AND I BLAST AWAY AT THEM (MONO)

  1. Ha! Too old, eh?
    I love the feeling of freedom in this one, my friend. Great captured.

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Fine by me as well – a lovely, painterly rendition.

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    Your combination of long experience and instinct served you well here. The blurred motion is, to my eye, a real plus in this image. And how fortunate that you caught the one behind the leader so well. This is very, very good.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

