ARCHIVE 244 – LARK (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

hovm_068LowKey2X
.
Skylark in song high above Tealham Moor, on the Somerset Levels south of Wedmore; 31 Mar 2014.

I love being out on Tealham Moor when these larks are singing.  Their music is far carrying and all embracing, somehow it is all around.  And, bird lover and enthusiast that I have been for these nearly 50 years, I never fail to be impressed by all of that sound emanating from such a tiny speck that rides the winds in another world, high above mine.  Often, with the song pouring over me in waves, my experienced eyes still fail to locate the singer.

I’ve posted before on the Tealham Skylarks.  Those pictures were in colour and taken much closer in; you can find them here.

This picture is a small part of a larger image.  In case you’re not sure what you’re looking at, the bird is hanging in the air, facing away from us.  Its wings are the pointed shapes on either side, and the prominent, slightly bulbous shape pointing towards upper left is the spread tail.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Low Key 2 preset, with a little restoration of original colour.

UPDATE: I like this image very much.  Although it would be hard to show less of its subject, it is a portrait, a portrait of a small living creature high up in – and eminently at home in – the wild vastnesses of its element, the sky.  Unless we are lucky enough to be able to pick out this well camouflaged little bird on the ground, this is how we see it – a small dot, often far smaller than this, high up in the heavens.  Thinking of these little creatures high up there in the air belting out their songs really gets to me, I have to say.  This is both an integral part of the Somerset Levels, which is where this photograph was taken, and a picture of the Natural World – an entity which is never, ever boring – just getting on with it, doing its thing.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to ARCHIVE 244 – LARK (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    YES – to all of it – in a hurry or I would say more….later!

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Yes, protecting nature is high on the list if we want to live a good life. Lovely shot my friend..you truly are on a roll.

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    For me, the two most haunting bird calls are the common loons that visit our Minnesota lake in the warmer months and the high-flying Canada geese in mass migration. They can really stir the soul as well.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Absolutely, yes, I can well imagine that. We have (introduced) Canada Geese here, beautiful calls, and far carrying. I think your Common Loon is our Great Northern Diver – they don’t breed here and I’ve never heard them, but the reputation of their haunting calls precedes them. Soul-stirring is indeed the phrase – we are truly fortunate to have such experiences.

      Like

  4. I like it too! Such a mood!! I love it!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

