BRISTOL 104 – WARNING

 

 

warning
.
Queen Charlotte Street, in the city centre;  19 July 2016.

Two things to say.  First, how I love light glancing over surfaces!  More than ever, these days, the play of light on things is important to my photography.

Secondly, I don’t know about the situation in other countries, but here in the UK we are increasingly uptight about photography, and especially so where the subjects are people or, even more so, children.  Well, OK, that’s fine, I quite understand the public’s fears, and for that reason never photograph other peoples’ children in public places.

However, on the other side of things, our every movement in towns and cities is monitored by ever increasing numbers of CCTV cameras.  All of us, often without our knowledge, are being photographed incessantly as we go about our daily lives, and we mostly accept it without a second thought.

And therein lies, to me anyway, a paradox.  I am certainly not saying that, since CCTV is so universal, photographers should have such universal freedoms and be beyond public reproach too.  But I am left wondering who looks at all the CCTV footage that is collected, how such people are vetted, and what happens to it all – how long and under what security it is stored – after it is taken.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to BRISTOL 104 – WARNING

  1. Sallyann says:

    It is quite scary how closely big brother is looking over your shoulder these days.
    I’m quite often pleasantly surprised when the right money off coupons arrive in the post from my usual supermarket.
    But, and I try to be delicate here, being one of “those women” at “that age” it’s quite unsettling when a money off voucher for the “right equipment” arrives at the right time in the post… Now that’s big brother watching a little too close for comfort thank-you.

    Like

    • Sallyann says:

      P.s. Love the light patterns on the wall. 😊

      Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh I agree about the right money coupons from the supermarket – I think that’s what’s known as a ‘targeted’ response – but anyone who offers me cheap Duvel gets my vote … hic! … 😉 ….

      And I respect your reticence and, this being a wholesome, wholehearted and wholemeal blog, am grateful for your not detailing said equipment >>> while 101% agreeing with your views that that is certainly intrusive – just how formal can I get? Simple fact is tho, my friend, where making profits is concerned, those wanting the filthy lucre will not give their intrusions of this type a second thought, such is our world. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good questions plus here we are continuously seeing people being videoed on the news channels, walking down the street with ..? Maybe you’re being captured where you shouldn’t be! Oh my!

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    All very good questions, and quite legitimate concerns. I think it likely that, with most of them, no one really looks at them much except either to follow up on some dastardly event or to act as a deterrent to anyone planning one.

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Could not agree more, whole thing about ‘privacy’ is ridiculous.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Had a feeling you might think the same. We live in a strange society, don’t we, its almost as if people don’t want to think about things … = “come in on, the consumerism’s lovely!”???

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

