SOMERSET LEVELS 279 – ALLERMOOR DROVE (MONO)

 

 

allermoor-drove-mono
.
Allermoor Drove arrows eastwards across Tealham Moor, on the Somerset Levels south Wedmore; 24 June 2016.

Not long ago, these flatlands were covered in lakes and impenetrable marshes, in which higher ground like that seen at top left formed islands.

When these flatlands were drained and converted to agriculture, a network of these (often dead straight) droves was laid down across the newly emergent landscape, so that farmers could access their fields without crossing other farmers’ land.  A few of these droves have been (slightly!) widened to become tarmac roads, but most remain as rough tracks like this, which are quite adequate for their purpose.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window – recommended.

X-T1 with 10-24 Fujinon lens at 15mm (equiv); 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 279 – ALLERMOOR DROVE (MONO)

  1. paula graham says:

    Looks a bit Dutch to me! The B&W conversion adds to it

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Looking into the picture in my semi-sleepy state of trying to balance the end of my night-working week with the day-walking weekend to come, my eyed wander into the distance on your picture. My mind however has other ideas as it closes down to sleep.
    I would walk the picture into the land of nod… But I think I need more colourful dreams tonight. I have a busy weekend ahead and need the happy energy a colourful dream leaved behind in the morning. 😊

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    It still looks pretty soggy. Was there a recent rain, or is it usually (or frequently) like this? Oh, of course, you have a lot of rain, don’t you? I’m wondering if a drove like this is driveable in a normal car or if you need 4wd (or a good pair of wellies) to negotiate it safely. It does look welcome for walkies!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha! well, it can be bone dry >>> or it can be underwater >>> but dampish is normal. Funny you should ask about negotiating it in a normal car, because I did a great amount of such driving in Kenya, esp in a VW Beetle but also in rear wheel drive vans – and given that this track is horizontal, the two things really are the vehicle’s clearance, and whether the track is at all boggy. As this track is here, with quite a lot of stone in it, I’d happily run my little Peugeot over it, probably keeping one wheel up on the ridge in the track’s centre. My experience has been that ordinary vehicles will go over far more than we mostly thing they will, front wheel drive being preferable of course. A

      Liked by 1 person

      • krikitarts says:

        I’ve had beetles too–three in fact, and my first car was a beetle. I still think that they (the older ones) are still among the most fun cars to drive!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I agree, Beetles are certainly fun to drive – and I couldn’t have (blindly!) chosen a better 2WD car for off-road driving when I got to Kenya. Modern “Beetles” are of course something else, certainly not so characterful – as of course are modern “Land Rovers”!

          Like

  4. Beauty in Nostalgia says:

    I love this image! It reminds of the farm back home!!! And presenting the picture in this colour, creates a wonderful mood – Love It

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

