STILL LIFE 55 – RALEIGH (MONO + COLOUR) #Bristol #bike

 

 

raleigh
.
A row of bicycles locked to a stand beside a busy road in the city centre.  Kneeling down onto the hard pavement to get this shot could have been distinctly painful – and would most probably lead to charitable overtures from passing octogenarians on the theme of “helping that old man up” – I mean, who needs that?  And so to looking down into the X-T1’s tilting screen, which is increasingly useful.

Its a simple image, something I prefer.  Its not abstract because its subject is easily recognisable.  Because it is so simple it might be Minimal, but it does contain quite a bit of detail, especially on the tyre.  The restored colour of the mudguard is just about true, but had it been any brighter I would have bleached it somewhat – less is more here.

The top of the image is darker than the backdrop between the spokes, and SEP2 has usefully accentuated this.  The backdrop between the spokes has almost the texture of clouds or mist.

There is another bicycle wheel picture here.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 3200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, including selective restoration of colour; The Centre, Bristol; 19 July 2016.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to STILL LIFE 55 – RALEIGH (MONO + COLOUR) #Bristol #bike

  1. … Helping that old man up… Ha!
    I’m looking at your photo on my iPhone and I really like it a lot. Not an abstract? Hmm. Well I think it is. But that’s just me.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well it is small view abstracted from a scene, but to me (but maybe not to everyone, I know) a true abstract is one in which the identity of the subject is not obvious or straightforward >>> and humanity’s first response in seeing such a picture is to try and work out what its showing! 😀 And yes, I cultivate the Old Man thing – it can be effective! And also its maybe being more realistic than attempting to cultivate the Young Man thing … 😉 …

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bluebrightly says:

    You’re having fun! Even if you can’t spell tire, it’s a lovely image! 😉

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hahaha! >>> I love you Americans! >>> my favourite safari clients were mostly Americans >>> but I can’t spell tyre? >>> never has my app been so alled, Madam!!! I mean, well, one can only Thank Heavens for the jolly old Pond, damned fine moat, eh what?! I say, time for a spot of tiffin! 😀 Yes I am having fun – glad the picture gets to you, thank you! A 🙂

      Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    I like this one lots. Love the tire textures, an of course the Raleigh, standing as proud as a Rolls Royce or Jaguar on the mudguard. 😊

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

