STILL LIFE 54 – WALL WITH DRAINPIPE AND WINDOW

 

 

wall-with-drainpipe-and-window
.
King William Avenue, central Bristol; 19 July 2016.

A photo with little in it.  First, I was strongly drawn by the glorious colour and texture of the wall.  More of Bristol’s walls should look like this, the city would be a brighter place.

Then the drainpipe and window frame add starkly black, rectilinear shapes, and the window contains paleness and uncertainties.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 84mm (equiv); 400 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to STILL LIFE 54 – WALL WITH DRAINPIPE AND WINDOW

  1. I love the colours and the beauty! Hope you’ll check out my blog too. Love and best regards. x

    Like

  2. I agree about the color and texture. The contrast between the window and the wall … Now THAT’S glorious! Nice capture, bud. XXX ATP XXX ❤️

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, the contrast between the window and the wall >>> I see what you mean, bud >>> glad it gets to you >>> thank you! How are you all getting on? Is the puppy back from boot camp? Are you still bent on relocating? Hope all is well. We are fine. XXX ATP (aka bud) XXX 🙂

      Like

  3. I like watching this colour. I thought it was a house in Southern France. It’s very beautiful.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Merci bien, Claire, j’aime votre mots beaucoup! Oui, it should be (j’ai oublie le francais pour ca!) dans le sud de la France, pas dans le gris Bristol! Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t worry about your French level. I understand very well what you mean. I’m developping another blog in English. My posts are shorts but it’s the beginning.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Alors! >>> que cette femme connait ma langue, c’est formidable quoi!!! >>> where is all this ragged French coming from??? I find it takes energy to think in French, main c’est une langue que j’aime beaucoup >>> I started to learn French at the age of 7 in primary school, leant it all over again in secondary school aged 11-16, and then travelled and worked en France. I wish you luck with your English blog – if there is any way that I can help you with this, please let me know. A 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • I’ve been learning English for secondary school. I’m very lucky because I had good teachers. However, when I was a child, my mum everyday listened to English songs like Phil Collins, Elton John, the Beatles, Mariah Carey and even the Swedish band Abba. I understand everything in these songs. Nevertheless, I try read more in English about teeth, essential oils or coconut oil because I don’t know English vocabulary about these topics. But I think it’s better to let you see my posts if I have problems when I write.

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Yes, certainly, I can look at the text of your posts in English, I’m very happy to help. The easiest thing would be for you to email me the text, I think that’s the easiest way to do it. The Comments page of WordPress shows commenters’ emails so, in a few minutes, I’ll send you an email from my private email (ie not my blog email), so you can email me on this private address – my blog email gets flooded with emails! A

              Liked by 1 person

  4. paula graham says:

    fab colour palette.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

