SOMERSET LEVELS 278 – ASH MOOR

 

 

ash-moor
.
I was walking along Hurn Drove, on the southwest of Ash Moor, when there was a sudden movement to my left.  My eyes met this hostile stare – and I was grateful for the water-filled ditch that flowed between us!

But he was content, in his field with his many cows and, as so often is the case, I was merely a passing source of irritation.

There is another photo of a bull on the Somerset Levels – from 2009 – in amongst the little collection of photos here.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor lens used in DX format to give 450mm; 800 ISO; 12 Aug 2016.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 278 – ASH MOOR

  1. I see sadness in his eyes… Don’t know why though… Maybe it’s just me. Lovely portrait.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I know what you mean about the sadness, although sitting out there in the big, sunny field with all his cows he should have been on something of a roll. Had there not been a deep ditch between us, I would have been totally petrified.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bluebrightly says:

    I believe you, but my first take on this was, “Awww…” He looks sweet! But I wasn’t there to experience the sheer size of him.

    Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    I think you’re misinterpreting his mood. Maybe he’d just like a little friendly scratch between his ears.

    Like

  4. BeckyB says:

    He looks resigned to life to me!!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

