ARCHIVE 241 – WELCOME TO BURNHAM-ON-SEA! (MONO)

 

 

retire_005LowKey2X
.
Walls at the back of the Morrisons supermarket in Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset; 20 Mar 2013.

I have been and probably still am married to my 70-300 telezoom – the thing is, I so often “see” at 300mm, which is x6 in 35mm format.  But I’ve taken this lens to Burnham so many times that, today, I thought it time for something different – a wideangle zoom.  And the change worked – new perspectives appeared everywhere.

This post’s title is a bit naughty as we like Burnham a lot – its cheap and cheeful but uncomplicated, and there are good eateries and food shops – and here I am portraying it like some kind of prison camp!  Its a great place!

D700 with 16-35 Nikkor at 21mm; 400 ISO; converted to mono with Silver Efex Pro 2, starting from the Low Key 2 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to ARCHIVE 241 – WELCOME TO BURNHAM-ON-SEA! (MONO)

  1. Amazing. Just amazing. Ten points!

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Yea, like this angle so much and yes..I seem wedded to my 70-200 and have to force myself to attach something a bit wider to camera…but..so what.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, absolutely, so what that you’re wedded to the 70-200? It doesn’t matter in the slightest. There is this sad thing of course that we must never languish (or should that be, luxuriate?) in our comfort zones, that we must always be pushing ourselves to greater things – I used to get a lot of that crap in work. Well blow that for a lark! If we enjoy something, like our long lenses, let’s do it!

      On another tack, our long lenses are large and heavy – tomorrow morning I’m posting my final thoughts on the X-T1 camera gear. My Nikons (and I haven’t got a D3!) seem large and heavy now. Hope you find my thoughts of interest. A xxx

      Like

  3. Interesting. Naughty or nice, I like it! XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      ATP, thank you very much! By the way, isn’t where you’re thinking of moving to very much underwater at the moment – have you chosen somewhere above the waters??? I hope so! ATP xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

