BRISTOL 101 – CANDLESTICKS IN A FLOATING RESTAURANT

 

 

candlesticks-in-a-floating-restaurant
.
Silhouetted candlesticks in The Three Brothers Burgers floating restaurant; Welsh Back, central Bristol; 5 August 2016.

A second early morning foray into Bristol city centre, on another day that promised a lot of sunshine.  The 0608 bus got me down there earlier than more sensible souls, the sun kept promising to rise above a low cloud bank, and I went walkabout, looking at anything and everything – while hoping for blazing, low angle, early morning sunlight.  Years ago I read that our legs are amongst our most useful photographic tools – always keep moving, keep looking with an aware, open and receptive mind, keep altering viewpoint – this simple plan of action has very often worked for me.

So later I found myself meandering along the side of the Floating Harbour, heading up towards Bristol Bridge.  To my right was the water, with three floating restaurants that were broadside on to the now blazing sun.

I drew abreast the middle boat, The Three Brothers Burgers restaurant, and the sun was pouring into its dining room, throwing two large candlesticks into sharp silhouette.  The atmosphere in that dining room looked dusty and hazy, the whole place reminded me of a painting, and the camera caught the feel of the place exactly.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window – recommended.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon at 168mm (equiv); 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

5 Responses to BRISTOL 101 – CANDLESTICKS IN A FLOATING RESTAURANT

  1. krikitarts says:

    Not only dusty, hazy, and ghostly–it even looks cobwebby, as if you’d found and opened a door into a long-forgotten room, rather than one in frequent active use. I like the mood of this!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, my friend, very good to hear from you! Are you still in difficulties following your knee surgery? I certainly hope not. How are you getting on? Yes, you’ve put into words what I’ve had fuzzily in mind, absolutely right – a long forgotten room, dusty, musty – yes! Glad it gets to you! Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My legs are not what they use to be. Oh! They look great! But they don’t move as well 😉 Legs aside, this shot is ghostly and I love it! Floating restaurant?!?! I’m in!!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Ghostly’s a good word, yes, very apt – glad it gets to you! I guess that familiarity breeds contempt, I live in Bristol and think nothing of it, but we do have some enjoyable things, of which the floating restaurants are one – the city is getting a reputation for dining / eating out. My legs look dreadful but work ok – touch wood! – my routine “slimming walks” are now about 5 miles long, and I did two on Thursday – ouch! ATP xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

