STILL LIFE 49 – WING MIRROR (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

wing-mirror-mono-colour
.
Truro, Cornwall; 12 April 2016.

OK, OK, I know this isn’t a strictly speaking a wing mirror (after all, only birds really have those, right? – sorry, birders’ joke …) >>> but I just like that as a title – is that artistic licence, or humouring an old man whose dotage is apparently scheduled to start sometime early next week??? 🙂

And the image?  Well, its getting over towards the abstract, and the Minimal too – there’s quite a lot of detail here, but much of it is diffuse and unclear, which I think a good thing.

And I’ve created it with Nik’s (now Google’s) Silver Efex Pro 2, which I find truly excellent for making mono images, and which to me leaves Lightroom far, far behind.  This may be unfair, maybe Lightroom can produce such effects but, if so, then I’ll bet that SEP2 can produce them far more easily.

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 195mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, including selective restoration of colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to STILL LIFE 49 – WING MIRROR (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. paula graham says:

    super stuff, love the colours and the framing. Y’r on a roll, my friend!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you very much! Visual things do seem to be going well at the moment, whether its due to the new camera I don’t know. Did another early morning foray in Bristol yesterday. Adrian xxx

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Delighted to hear you have ‘discovered’ Silver Efex, Adrian. It really is a superb piece of software that I now use for all my B&W output. I love this shot – kind of abstract but enjoyable too as a contemporary image.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good to hear that you use SEP2 too, Andy – I certainly wouldn’t be without it. But now that Google are offering it gratis, there are worries it may be discontinued. Glad the shot gets to you – thanks! A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

