BRISTOL 100 – VIEW INTO A RESTAURANT

 

 

view-into-a-restaurant
.
Looking in through a restaurant window, Bristol Harbourside; 14 July 2016.

Looking in through this window, I was at once taken with the single, beautiful flower, caught by the light.  But, there being all sorts of visual rubbish off to the left, I could not make the flower anywhere near central in the composition, nor get it near to any of the compositional thirds.  I could of course have tried portrait (ie vertical) format, but this seemed a waste of all that diffuse, half-seen, “restauranty” detail off to the right – table cloths, more glasses, cutlery, upholstery.

And so to this.  Westerners’ eyes often enter images from the left, perhaps because we write from left to right – I’ve often talked about this on this blog in the past.  So,  in this case, my eyes enter this image from the left and run visually slap bang into the flower and its attendant glassware, sharp and well lit in the summer sunlight – and are for a moment held there. 

But as I look at the bloom and its reflective attendants, my eyes keep wandering off to the right, wondering what’s there – only to be dragged back to the flower again. 

Do your eyes do the same, or do you see this differently?  Is the flower really too far left?  What do you think?

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon lens at 305mm (equiv); 3200 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to BRISTOL 100 – VIEW INTO A RESTAURANT

  1. Meanderer says:

    Yes – the pink rose is definitely eye-catching, but actually my eyes are all over this image like a visual rash. Is that a reflection of a man on the right? Is it you? Or a poster of a man? I also like the splashes of pinks in other areas of the image.

    On another subject, I have to draw your attention to a film I saw on Iplayer last night. It was part of Keith Richards’ weekend on BBC4 and was on too late to watch ‘live’ as it were. You may, of course, have seen it: ‘The Bicycle Thieves’. It’s a B&W Italian ‘neo-realistic’ film, and something of a classic, apparently. (I had never come across it before). It was excellent and I highly recommend it!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I think I see what you’re referring to, but I don’t think its any sort of image of a man, and I don’t recall there being anything there >>> very glad this gets to you, M, I’m pleased with it.

      I saw some of the Keith Richards weekend and liked it very much – what a great chap he is, and heaven knows how he’s survived so much booze, fags and drugs – just a wonderful character. I’ll look at catch up later this week – thanks for the tip! A

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bluebrightly says:

    I think my eyes do something like what yours do – first the flower, then the glass in the middle, and back, and around the frame, finding other details. Intellectually I like the balance of seeing through and reflection. Neither one overpowers the other.

    Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    From the left as you say, maybe my eyes arent as exquisite as yours as they only pull as far as the central glass, or… Maybe I just enjoyed the flower and glasses too much and an too lazy to look too far over to the right.
    Strangely though, I didn’t see the flower on first glance, my eyes were drawn straight to the glasses and bumped into the flower on second bounce.
    But there again… Maybe I’m talking complete gobbledygook and the emperor isn’t even wearing any clothes.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gobbledygook isn’t you, interesting thoughts are you – its always good to see inside another’s mind, to learn how others perceive things. For me, at least, its a part of what this blogging is all about. Thanks for your thoughts, my friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. LensScaper says:

    Yes we do read images from left to right. Compositional rules are there to be broken and I’m quite happy with the flower where it is. There’s a nice diagonal line that leads down to the glass, past the folded napkins until it rests on the last napkin. The knife on the final napkin is a ‘full stop’ that stops one’s eye drifting out of the picture. A ‘full stop’ doesn’t have to be bold or dramatic to work and that knife serves that function perfectly. It’s a well-seen shot, Adrian, that many would have missed.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, thank you very much for these interesting points, just the sorts of things I like to get my head round. Absolutely right – rules are there to be broken – almost a basic article of faith for you and I, I think.

      I hadn’t seen that diagonal nor thought about the full stop, but I see exactly what you mean – thank you for the insight. In a way, going back towards the left from the tip of that knife, a rough triangle expands to enclose all (or most) of the solid items in the shot – the base of this toppled over triangle is the flower and its glass – all else in the frame is soft detail / conjecture / whimsy. A

      Like

  5. The wine glass in the middle caught my attention first. Then the flower (so pretty in pink) got dragged into my vision along with the other glassware (sparkling and clean) on the left. And finally the table (ghostlike) and silverware (shiny) on the right came in balancing the whole thing. I like it just the way it is. I think it’s very interesting. Job well done, bud.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gem, thank you very much for your analysis, its really interesting to hear how you see it – and I can quite understand, in fact I think you may be right, that its the glass in the centre that grabs the attention first, presumably because its central. Always good to hear about other ways of seeing. Thanks, bud! ATP XXX

      Like

  6. This image is simple and beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. paula graham says:

    Yes, I like that…often I see this kind of scene and wonder…who is going to dine there, will the food be as nice as they expect it to be?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      My friend, I’m glad this picture gets to you. And I love blogging because it brings me into contact with like minds around the world >>> except that some of the most enjoyable things are when those minds are UN-like – as here.

      You see, I would very seldom have such thoughts as you describe, I’d just be in there with the image, the image and the image. It may be a gender thing – but in any case I do think that you’re a more sensitive person than I am – as I often see via your comments on Malin’s blog.

      NOT that I’m saying that your thoughts here are not valuable, they certainly are most valuable, and they certainly enhance the enjoyment that I’ve had and am having by creating this post. Thank you. xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

