PEOPLE 219 – 223 FRAMES LATER

 

 

people-223-frames-later
.
Being somewhat masochistic in nature and also not a little dotty, I have for some little while been telling myself that I should get down to Bristol city centre very early on a day that promises wall to wall sunshine, to fire off a few pics.  And so to a hard road.  For this is summer and the sun rises early – just after 5am today – with today being the hottest of the year so far, going over 90F which is 33C – which is pretty warm for us western Brits.

Anyway, I did it.  The 0623 bus took me in, and I then walked for around 5 hours with the aid of several cold Diet Cokes.  And it was excellent, with the X-T1 working extremely well, firing off 223 frames.

Whether any of these myriad frames will be any good is another matter, but here’s me, sidelit early on before the temperature soared, in typically tatty trousers and old pullover, just missing getting run over by one of our double-decker buses.

And there was delight on the long walk home, in the form of being accosted by a lady who could easily have been 80, who was quite hard of hearing – and who was a keen and distinctly sharp photographer.  “You’re taking pictures outside my house, and I want to know what you’re photographing!”.  So, together, we went through all (at that stage) 215 or so, and it was a simply delightful experience.  And when I revealed that I was about to walk on to the outer suburbs, I was asked if I was carrying water and I wasn’t – “Well you either go and buy some this instant, or I’ll buy some for you and you won’t like that!”.  And she accompanied me into the shop.

Life can be wonderful sometimes.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to PEOPLE 219 – 223 FRAMES LATER

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Faaaabulous story! Early ! Hot ! Fun !

    Like

  2. a wonderful tale!!

    Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    Brilliant. I could so easily have been the lady who accosted you. I have no intention of waiting until I reach 80 to be “that batty old lady”. 😊

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh you can accost me any time, except that now I’ve been accosted I don’t feel like going out much, its a security thing I suppose. But she wasn’t batty, she was dynamic and full of character, full of life – just wonderful! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds wonderful. Thanks for sharing all, Adrian. Always enjoy whatever you’re doing.

    Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Brilliant action and what a great lady.

    Like

  6. What a delightful experience and WATER. GOOD. DIET COKE. NOT SO GOOD!!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, delightful >>> but DCoke is OK, not that I drink a lot of it >>> its usually either Belgian beer, tea, coffee (sometimes Irish!) or water. Hope you’re doing just fine! ATP xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

