STILL LIFE 45 – BICYCLE WHEEL (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

bicycle-wheel-mono
.
Bike wheel with plastic reflector; central Bristol; 14 July 2016.

Out tramping the (for a change) warmish streets of central Bristol – and being dreadfully tempted by the delicious smells emanating from an abundance of food shops and stalls – Bristol is known for its good grub these days.  But not being able to eat any of said good grub as I’m still “dieting” (the term is gets looser with time), and I’m weighing myself tomorrow morning!  And no, my talking scales won’t say “One at a time please!”, tho they have been known to wave a white flag …

And when I got home we had visitors, so I couldn’t collapse into my favourite arm chair >>> and so to doing something I otherwise never do, which is looking at my photos immediately after taking them, and actually processing this one and getting it out onto the blog.  If anyone needs a hint: I’ve found (and I’ve heard and read the same from many other photographers too) that its much better NOT to do this but, rather, to leave your photos well alone immediately after taking them.  Leave them alone for a few days and then come back to them, and then you’ll (hopefully!) see them in a new and more inspired light.  And keep coming back to them as time goes by – seeing them again with fresh eyes is always good – and some of your images may mature like fine wines!

And the actual photography?  Well X-T1 worked really wonderfully – but then I wasn’t pointing it at anything especially fast and frenetic.

X-T1 with 55-200 Fujinon at 305mm (equiv); Lightroom; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Architectural preset and selectively restoring colour; rotated 90 degrees anticlockwise.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to STILL LIFE 45 – BICYCLE WHEEL (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. “… dreadfully tempted by the delicious smells emanating from an abundance of food shops and stalls” <—— 🙂 You always make me smile, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Malin, my friend, if that’s the case, if I do indeed often make you smile, then that pleases me greatly. I enjoy making people laugh and smile generally, it seems a worthwhile thing to do in Life, but making you smile is especially worthwhile, it seems to me. 🙂

      Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Love it, and I love that you have so much fun processing. I agree about coming back to photos, but for me, it doesn’t seem to be beneficial to wait a few days. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t – all depending on time available.

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Delightful photo..Love it, well processed too.

    Like

  4. Helen Cherry says:

    You were right to do it at once.. why wait when it is a good one !!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Helen, thank you very much! How are you getting on? Officially retired yet??? Hope so! A 🙂

      Like

      • Helen Cherry says:

        Officially retired on the 18th May but they have to pay me for 3 months as they effectively had to “let me go” on ill health grounds. My actual NHS pension starts on the 18th August 🙂 feeling so much better already and today I just posted my first blog post for ages.. going to try to keep it up…

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh I’m so glad to hear your news, and esp that you feel much better already >>> embrace retirement positively, relax and go with the flow. Keeping up posting on your blog is a good idea – I find that blogging is a great incentive to go out photographing, and I very much enjoy talking to other bloggers. All good wishes to you, Helen, all the very best. Adrian 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

