ARCHIVE 238 – DECAYING SEAT, AND AN ASSIGNMENT BY MALIN ELLISDOTTER HELLESO

 

 

IMG_2921X
.

UPDATE: this is an image that I submitted to an assignment on the theme of Decay set by my good friend Malin Ellisdotter Helleso.  This assignment received an excellent response from many photographers in a range of styles – you can find these images here highly recommended, both for the images themselves and the photographers’ blogs.

The original text for my own post is as follows:

Decaying public seating in central Bristol; 14 June 2013.

I focused on the rotting wood and let the rest look after itself – a benefit of cameras with smaller sensors is that they increase depth of focus.  The out of focus metal armrest lower right brings both depth and a graceful curve to the composition.  The rear leg of the seat introduces more curves, and the pavement is a neutral, segmented backdrop. 

The dull, overcast day, with it paucity of shadows, was right for this kind of photo.

And I received the usual puzzled stares – “What’s that daft old fart doing?!” – as I slowly circled what had attracted my eye.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (35mm equivalent); 200 ISO; rotated 90 degrees clockwise.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

4 Responses to ARCHIVE 238 – DECAYING SEAT, AND AN ASSIGNMENT BY MALIN ELLISDOTTER HELLESO

  1. Thank you for the mention, my friend. I really appreciate it…I’m grateful to all of the participants, makes me happy to see them all together.

    I hope you are fine, Adrian.

    Like

  2. What a fabulous shot! I have an affinity for photos of decay. (Now what does that say about this old girl?!?!?). I looked at the others. Well worth the trip over there to peruse. The one by Gutstav was a little ghost-like. Fun! But they were all interesting and spark my imagination (what little there is of it). Thanks for the opportunity.
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad those other blogs got to you, my friend, having the imagination sparked cannot be but good, very good and that’s a fact – they’re mostly not blogs I know well, but I think that’s my loss – must see more of them. You have an affinity for decay? Well why not, it can be very beautiful, as you will know from my selfies. 😉

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

