SOMERSET LEVELS 272 – HARD ROAD (MONO)

 

 

hard-road-mono

.
A new surface of chippings on the muddy track south of the Magic Carpark, Tadham Moor; 24 June 2016.

In the summer, but doubtless thinking of the winter ahead, the farmer has re-surfaced this rough track with a carpet of tough, angular chippings.  These rough rocks felt sharp and uncomfortable underfoot, and the whole impression was of a hard road on a dark day, leading on into the future.

And as anticipated (and finding refuge perhaps in less stark, technical matters), I found a use for the X-T1’s tilting back screen – it saves having to lie down flat when bringing a wide angle lens down to ground level.  And I partner this screen and lens combination with something bought long ago in a garden centre.  A garden centre?! … I know … the memory still smarts … I’ll be playing bingo next … 

But anyway, this garden centre item is a very light and portable rubber pad for gardeners to kneel down on, and its just the thing for my ageing knees – especially on surfaces like this!

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window – recommended.

X-T1 with 10-24 Fujinon at 15mm (equiv); 800 ISO; Lightroom; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Wet Rocks preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 272 – HARD ROAD (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I know those pads! I would never remember it – I guess you just keep it in the car…
    Wonderful perspective…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes its always in the boot (I mean trunk!!!) of the car so its never forgotten – while also being convenient for the house and garden too – its a really wonderful, cheap and very light piece of kit! Glad you like this shot – here is the X-T1’s tilting screen coming into its own. My only problem is that I have to take my (distance) glasses off to use the screen – and then what to do with my glasses while taking the shot?! No big problem! A 🙂

      Like

  2. Carrie says:

    Love this, Adrian. The perspective and wild skies are captivating!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Carrie, thank you very much! By the way, we talked ages ago about geology, and about modern texts for a course I was thinking of giving. Well I never did give the course, but I have just bought New Scientist’s “Origin, Evolution, Extinction”, which gives up to date views of life on Earth >>> and I have to say that I’m totally STUNNED by the advances in this branch of geology since I was an academic – wow! What fascinating stuff! Hope you’re fine. Adrian 🙂

      Like

      • Carrie says:

        Hello! Yes, I remember 🙂 It is wonderful to feed your curiosity like that. And I totally agree, so many incredible discoveries and new understandings of species development and extinctions. So interesting. Good for you!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Those garden center knee pads come in very handy, bud. We have to give in to what make us comfy these days. LOL
    Another fantastically frameable capture. You’re outdoing yourself, sir!

    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Right on, New Joisey Lady, we Ageing Disgracefully’s must stick to the comfies, in fact I’ve got a penchant for them, not to mention a penchant for penchants ->>> pure hedonism, its a Wrinkly thing!

      Glad you like the pic >>> better inspect your In Box … no no! … not for free toothpaste offers … for the picture, the picture!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. paula graham says:

    Hmmm, another reminder of the hard road ahead to unite the country again, somehow.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

