ARCHIVE 237 – KERNOW (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

stives_233aX
.
The flag of Kernow – the Cornish word for Cornwall – flutters over St Ives; 24 Apr 2012.

Along with Scotland, Wales, Ireland, the Isle of Man and Brittany, Cornwall is a part of western Europe’s Celtic Fringe – areas which retain the cultures and traditions of the Celtic people that originally inhabited much of Europe before they were pushed westwards by the expansions of the Roman Empire and, later on, of Germanic tribes like the Anglo Saxons.

Nationalism is alive and well in these Celtic areas, and the visitor to Cornwall soon encounters these black and white flags.

Here I’ve taken the image into SEP2, restored the blue of the sky and then mimicked the effects of a graduated neutral density filter, by progressively darkening the upper parts of the frame.  I’ve not made the sky’s blue pronounced as that might prove overpowering. 

But I think that this slight tinge does add something to the shot – perhaps it makes it a little more unreal or other worldly.  The gleaming and sooty chimney with its strange little bird-spattered cover probably helps here too.   I’ve also loaded in large amounts of structure, and raised the contrast.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; converted to mono and further processed in Silver Efex Pro 2.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to ARCHIVE 237 – KERNOW (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Chris Perkins says:

    Hi Adrian,

    As a native Cornishman I hope you don’t mind me commenting on your comments on the Celtic Fringe. Last year the British Government finally recognised that the Cornish are a separate minority within the U.K. and are, as the Cornish have always maintained, a different ethnic people to the other Celtic nations.

    Quite a few years ago I saw a documentary on BBC2, I think, about a Scandinavian who had carried out DNA tests on the populations on the western seaboard of Europe to ascertain where the Vikings had been. As part of this he was also able to tell which of the Celtic peoples were related to each other and he found that the Cornish, the Bretons and the Portuguese are a distinct group and are all descended from the same ethnic group, who apparently moved out of the Middle East about 4,500 years ago. That probably accounts for the fact that we never have any difficulty in getting a good tan. 🙂

    Funnily enough, due to one of my great-grandmothers, who came from Fowey, I don’t actually have a Cornish surname. While working in Devonport Naval Dockyard she married a shipwright who was also working there and who came from Gloucester.

    Really like your photography and have bookmarked your site.

    Chris P

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello Chris, thank you very much for this interesting input – and I do apologise for my outdated information, I hope that I haven’t caused any offence. Although I don’t know vast amounts about this subject, I am doubly at fault because it is one – in terms of both human evolution and the details of humanity’s spread across the planet – that very much interests me.

      I am a little similar to you in that I have a Welsh surname that derives from a marriage sometime back, whereas the rest of my family appears to have been from the west of England, which is a region very dear to me.

      I’m glad my pictures get to you – thank you! Adrian

      Like

      • Chris Perkins says:

        Hi Adrian,

        Please don’t worry, you haven’t caused any offence at all, it was just that I thought that you might like to know a bit more about Celtic history.

        I spent the last 30 odd years of my working life as an Electrical/Mechanical Engineer Surveyor working for insurance companies, obviously the reports had to be written in a very factual manner and that has left its mark on the way I write things in general.

        Another thing which may interest you, have you ever noticed that the Cornish and Breton flags are the same except that the colours are reversed?

        Chris P

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Good to know I haven’t caused offence, Chris, thanks. No, I only know the Cornish flag but, from google, I see what you mean. I’m rather the same re writing, since a lot of mine was on the descriptive, scientific side of things. Adrian

          Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Good and interesting photo…I find all this flag flying a bit scary..and look what is happening now…a leap into the abyss..cause the UK wants to be great again. I am truly saddened by the exit .

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, glad you like the picture, Paula. But I fear we are at odds again. I do agree with you, both about the flag waving and the leap into the abyss, but I think its a very necessary leap, one this country needs to make. I harbour absolutely no desire for Britain to be “great” again, but I do think that we need to be in control of our own policies, laws and lives. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

