STILL LIFE 38 – SUBURBIA WITH YELLOW (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

suburbia-mono-colour
.
Thatcham, Berkshire; 1 June 2016.

Kneeling down in suburbia, beset (but far from besotted) by immaculately manicured lawns, carefully polished cars on tidy drives, hanging floral baskets, TV aerials, overhead wires and, in one disgraceful instance (presumably on the property of a Conservative hardliner), little grottoes populated by garden gnomes – oh spare me the little grottoes!

And I was kneeling down at the road’s edge, perhaps as a penance for allowing myself to become embroiled with suburbia in the first place. 

But certainly getting funny looks from a smirking postman – rude boy that he was, Preciousss! (and what was Gollum doing there, snacking from ornamental fish ponds, gorging on koi carp al fresco???) .  

Yes, funny looks, perhaps because the sole and fervently uttered prayer on my ageing lips was that I might, in due course, be allowed to regain the standing position without having to call the Emergency Services.

Anyway, there was yellow paint on the road, a little glimmer of untidy gaiety in a landscape otherwise dedicated to ordered comfort and respectability, and I knelt down and photographed it.

D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 24mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Dynamic Harsh preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to STILL LIFE 38 – SUBURBIA WITH YELLOW (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. JohnMiranda says:

    This is an awesome shot. Brighten my day!

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    This doesn’t feel at all like suburbia. I love the angle and the processing. But especially the way the white line appears to be sinking into the pavement. And yes, the yellow mark makes it sing.

    Like

  3. Beautiful work precioussssss (I speak Gollum, too!)

    Like

  4. You are such a wordsmith! I laughed. At the garden gnomes, the Conservative hardliner but mostly, due to the connection it made me feel, the getting up after kneeling down. Been there, bud. More than I care to mention. XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m very glad that I made you laugh, my valued friend – and a little startled to know you’ve been there too, a lot, when I thought this pastime was restricted to creaking old fogies like me!

      I suppose this is a post in two parts, the picture and the rest. But I just looked at the picture, and the rest just ran through my mind – actually some of it originated while the postman was smirking at me.

      BTW, did you receive that image I emailed alright? ATP xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

