PEOPLE 218 – MANNEQUIN

 

 

mannequin
.
Mannequin in a shop window; Truro, Cornwall, 12 Apr 2016.

I’ve taken quite a few pictures of mannequins (not sure I can bring myself to call them dummies) in shop windows over the years – and this one, in this shop, has in fact already featured on this blog, here.  

Mannequins are often visually striking – but that’s what they’re for, after all.  And I suppose I’m fascinated by their visual closeness to us, a kind of idealised “half-way house” between inanimate materials and ourselves.

Idealised?  Certainly.  Just look at her faultless complexion, like an air-brushed model in some glossy magazine.  And then the crimson slash of those full lips, and all that presumably synthetic but still beautifully cascading hair.

But what really gets to me here is the level, unblinking stare of her eye with its long lashes and artfully inserted, false highlight.  That eye fixes me, it holds me in its gaze.  And I’m unsure whether it is censuring my living vulnerability, ageing and decaying on every day since my birth, or making some mute and desperate plea to become a part of Life’s beautiful impermanence.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 3200 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to PEOPLE 218 – MANNEQUIN

  1. I keep coming back to this over the last day. She is striking! I go right to the eye. Then those glossy lips. The hair? In my best day I never had such a dandy do. Mesmerizing. XX MX ATP XXX

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    I’m so glad to discover I’m not the only man who stares into shop windows and photographs the mannequins! Great shot, Adrian.

    Like

  3. Great shot – there is something about mannequins that unnerve me, not sure why. Reminds me of Blade Runner 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Lisa! Yes, I can understand the unnerving thing, in this case the level stare from something not quite human >>> and Blade Runner >>> definitely! >>> one of my very favourite films! A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

