BIRDS 81 – COMMON GULL

 

 

common-gull
.
Common Gull, Chew Valley Lake, Somerset; 5 Feb 2016.

This is a medium sized gull, slightly larger than the winter-plumaged Black-headed Gulls seen around it here, but smaller than the distinctly meatier Herring and Lesser Black-backed Gulls that roar and ravage (as some would see it) over our countryside and, especially, our urban sprawls.

The rather weak, greenish bill is a good identification feature, especially amongst Black-headed Gulls, which have red bills when adult (one of which can just be seen here, on the right).

And, English bird names being what they are, this gull is never common, at least around here; and the Black-headed Gulls, when in breeding plumage, do in fact have dark brown heads.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to BIRDS 81 – COMMON GULL

  1. Emily Gooch says:

    Where I live, at times the gulls can be more of a annoyance… I’ve been pooped on on many occasions… and they don’t hesitate to steal food right out of your hands. Lovely image, Adrian. I like the mood you’ve captured.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, that’s how gulls are, and I’ve suffered from them too – but I still like them! I was out walking the other day and one came down low, obviously having a look to see if I had anything stealable – and I just looked up at him and said “Come on then, just come down and try!” – he would have had a shock. Having spent years in wild Africa, the prospect of a gull attack is not something to be greatly concerned about.

      I’m glad you like the picture – thank you!

      And its very good to hear from you too, I do hope you’re getting on alright. You had a broken leg or ankle, I think, is that all cleared up now? Adrian

      Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Ha, ha,…I always feel compelled to give folk a lesson on gulls when they talk about seagulls, I tell them there is no such creature…they, (the people!) shrivel up!! and I feel so guilty. Lovely gull shot!,

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Ah yes, seagulls, I know just what you mean – perhaps we’re highbrow birders or bird lovers. I grew up in Weston-super-Mare, and the gulls were a constant presence >>> but my first real job was far inland, and it was really strange not to have them around. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

