PEOPLE 217 – LOOKING WORRIED (MONO)

 

 

looking-worried-mono
.
Looking worried; 20 May 2016.

Just back from the pub and several pints of Bath Ales’ really not at all bad Gem beer

And a barmaid who kept calling me “My lovely”, which always makes my knees go slightly unnecessary – but then this is Bristol and they all say it round here, its an endearing aspect of the place.

And now trying my bestest to get to grips with the G11’s wonderful fully articulated screen.  Am I in the shot or not?  And who’s that nice old man?

Canon G11 PowerShot at 56mm (equivalent); 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Key 2 preset and adding a selenium tone.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

23 Responses to PEOPLE 217 – LOOKING WORRIED (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Love this so much! Your final comment – wonderful! I really like the framing and the pale grays – just great! I am envious a bit – I haven’t had the courage to do ANY self portraits that would reveal much more than shoes or shadows! (Oh, and looks like it’s a terrific camera!)

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Very glad this gets to you, my friend! We are all different of course, but I think that bloggers should post shots of themselves, I think that far too few do. I very much enjoy the contact with like minds worldwide that my blog brings – but its always more meaningful to be communicating with someone whose face I know or, better still, that I’ve actually met.

      And this was not taken with my new camera – but with my little Canon G11 PowerShot, that I’ve had for years – it has a totally wonderful, fully articulated screen, that can be pointed towards the subject when taking selfies, its a wonderful little thing to use. A 🙂

      Like

  2. Wonderful self portrait, my friend.

    Like

  3. expressive!! good shot!

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    A soft-hearted selfie…I say that as your usual selfies are harsh on yourself, yes, indeed you must be mellowing.

    Like

  5. Is that you? If so, you’d be fun to draw!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, that’s me – and draw away >>> a phrase which has two meanings, both of which apply. There’s a rather darker selfie on my ABOUT page and, should you have a thing for visual peculiarities, you can find more by searching on my “self portrait” tag – I think you can click on it above here – not for the faint hearted! A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol, seriously you have a great face! I found one with good lighting I have tried too. You mind if I post the artwork on my blog at some point? Linking back to your photo, of course. I totally understand if you’d rather I don’t. I personally don’t like self-portraits, every time I try I look horrible and if someone posted a drawing of me I can almost bet I would hate it. So no worries if you’d rather I didn’t, it’s good practice just to draw faces even if they never post anywhere. Your face is very expressive.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Laura, thank you very much indeed for all of the Comments and Likes that you’ve left on my blog – I’m quite taken aback, but at the same time very pleased that you like my images so much!

          I’m very easy about selfies, I think its good for others to be able to see my face and, as I like spreading what I do through the genres, selfies are a part of that.

          I am ABSOLUTELY happy for you to publish any artwork that derives from FATman Photos on your blog, and that does of course include selfies. I have ABSOLUTELY no problem with that at all. Linking back to my images will be good – thank you! Adrian 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Peek-a-boo! I see you, my lovely! ❤️ Yes. There you are! XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Now I think that you should make “My lovely” a real part of you – maybe together with the other three gems that Lisa Kimmorley (also from this part of the world) lists below here – and that in so doing you could make quite a splash for yourself in upper crust New Joisey social circles. ATP XXX

      Like

  7. Meanderer says:

    A different ‘take’ on yourself, Adrian? A very different – soft – version of yourself compared with the way you often portray yourself in close-ups. A pensive look, I might add.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Maybe I’m mellowing like a fine wine, while just hoping against hope that I won’t go all vinegary. And pensive? Yes, well, I knew even then that I should have had that other pint of Gem … 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Great shot, nice detail. You seem to be enjoying getting to know your new camera 🙂 Add to “my lovely” – “gert lush”, “right me babie” “‘s mint innit?” 😀 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh yes, I love those other phrases too, Lisa – bring them on! But this is not my new camera, this is an ancient (in digital terms) little Canon compact I’ve had for years. My new camera is taking some getting used to, and I think it’ll be awhile before its images start appearing here. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

