ARCHIVE 232 – STAIRS AT TATE MODERN

 

 

ADL114X
.

In 2005 I went ape over Modern Art  – in no small measure due to attending presentations on such luminaries as Degas, Picasso and Toulouse-Lautrec, which were put on by Bristol University.  Such was my enthusiasm that I made two trips to Tate Modern, in London, to see some of these masters’ work at first hand.

It is said that the UK consists of two parts, London and the rest, and that’s true – in any event London is not for me, its always far too big, far too busy, and it tires me out.

Tate Modern was crowded, that was only to be expected, but it was really quite something seeing so much artwork in the raw.  While there though, I also became visually intrigued by the vast emptiness of the Turbine Hall, and especially by the metal stairs that led up from it to other levels in the building.

OM-4 with 50mm Zuiko; Fuji Provia 400 colour slide rated at 1600 ISO; rotated clockwise; 22 Mar 2005.

.

.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to ARCHIVE 232 – STAIRS AT TATE MODERN

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I love the way museums inspire one to do things like this. Yes, you’d probably shoot a similar picture anyway, but I can’t help but think that seeing a lot of art played a part.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I think you’re absolutely right, Lynn – art can be very inspirational, and particularly if I’m not feeling especially visually receptive, seeing art can help a lot to “get me fired up”. Thanks. A 🙂

      Like

  2. fantastic perspective!

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    Yes, London is tiring and busy, but it always surprises me how just stepping off one of the main thoroughfares leads one into a quiet leafy square or to streets at such variance to the main routes.
    I love Southbank, I’ve walked it frequently from the RFH up to Tate Modern and beyond, and every time I step into Tate Modern I find images, especially looking down onto the vastness of the Turbine Hall. I like this shot, and the toning adds something extra to it.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m sure you’re right, Andy, I just haven’t spent enough time in London to explore its backwaters. But as I’m travelling less and less now, because I’m happiest over here in the west, I may not get up there again. But this shot isn’t toned, its from a colour slide. I can’t recall how I digitally manipulated it now, but this is, at least to some extent, original colour. Adrian

      Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Super shot, I know the stairs and tried shots of it , but nothing touching this excellence. Well seen.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

