TALKING IMAGES 19 – GET THE GOOGLE NIK COLLECTION FREE >>> NOW!

 

 

Regular readers of this blog will know that I usually use Nik Software in the production of my pictures – specifically Silver Efex Pro 2 for black and white, and Color Efex Pro 4 for colour (and sometimes combinations of the two).  I can’t recommend this software too strongly – and especially so Silver Efex.

.

Sometime back, Nik Software was acquired by Google, and the collection of programmes concerned was marketed as The Google Nik Collection, for £95 (UK).  Now Google has made this superb software absolutely free to download and use – and Amateur Photographer magazine (of which I’m also a fan – more on that later) suggests that this giveaway may mean that Google will soon cease supplying Nik Software altogether >>> so the message is, if you want Nik’s products get them NOW!

.

WHAT IS THE GOOGLE NIK COLLECTION?

Its a collection of seven image processing programmes that can be run as plug-ins in Adobe Photoshop / Elements / Lightroom, and Apple Aperture.  As Amateur Photographer (AP) puts it: “The Google Nik Collection contains some of the most highly regarded image-editing plug-ins … on the market.”.  Not all of the seven programmes are that useful, but Silver Efex Pro 2 and Color Efex Pro 4 are simply cosmic.  AP likes Analog Efex Pro 2 too, but it doesn’t really get to me.

.

WHY DO I LOVE USING SILVER EFEX PRO 2 AND COLOR EFEX PRO 4 SO MUCH?

I was going to talk here about Nik Software overall, but I can’t really do that because, of the seven software packages, SEP2 (especially) and CEP4 are the two that I use virtually all of the time.  But as Amateur Photographer says “… Analog Efex Pro 2, Color Efex Pro 4 and Silver Efex Pro 2 are so good they easily carry the weaker plug-uns.  The Google Nik Collection is worth installing for these alone.”.

The great advantages of SEP2 and CEP4 are EASE OF USE and, above all, SIMPLICITY.  The effects provided by SEP2 and CEP4 can most probably all be provided by Photoshop or Lightroom, given a deep enough knowledge of those packages, but in SEP2 and CEP4 these sophisticated effects are all easily and speedily accessible, at the touch of a button.  And everything is reversible, so that all changes made can be reversed until the final file is saved.

I’m an enthusiastic maker of black and white images, and SEP2 has really helped me create what my mind sees.  I simply don’t know what I’d do without it now.  And while B+W has been where I let my imagination go most, I rarely ever produce a colour image now without thinking first how CEP4 might enhance it.

What more can I say?

.

OPERATING SYSTEMS NEEDED

AP lists Windows Vista, 7 and 8 – whether it works with Windows 10 I don’t know.  Then for Apple – Mac OS X 10-7.5-10.10.

.

INTERNET ADDRESS

You can download the Google Nik Collection, and get more information,  from:

www.google.com/nikcollection/

Amateur Photographer’s article on the Nik Collection is the 14 May 2016 issue – recommended reading!  The AP website is here.

AP started in 1884, and is the world’s only weekly photographic magazine.  I have learned a vast amount from reading it, and thoroughly recommend it.

.

.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to TALKING IMAGES 19 – GET THE GOOGLE NIK COLLECTION FREE >>> NOW!

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I did it when I first learned it was free, and I’m glad! 🙂 I’m so used to using LR that I have to remind myself now that there’s another place I can go. I have loads more to explore with the NIK group of software, but so far mostly am going for the Silver Efex, since black and white conversions were the weakest part of my ancient version LR program.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh yes, stick with Silver Efex for your black and white images, it is superb, I wouldn’t be without it. And explore Color Efex too, it has so many useful things.

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    I couldn’t do without Silver Efex – a brilliant plug-in.

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Both the programs, with me plug-ins in PS 6 are programs I also use for most of my photos. Easy to overdo it…easy does it!! good post, my friend

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Generally, I’m for “easy does it” too but, sometimes, and especially in B+W, OTT works too. Restoring colour us an especially “less is more” thing, I think. A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

