FANTASY 37 – MAY IT BE A LIGHT TO YOU IN DARK PLACES, WHEN ALL OTHER LIGHTS GO OUT

 

 

rising-light
.
FANTASY

In this phial, she said, is caught the light of Earendil’s star, set amid the waters of my fountain. 

It will shine still brighter when night is about you. 

May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.

The Lord Of The Rings: Galadriel bids farewell to Frodo.

REALITY

Multiple exposure through bushes, towards light; Chew Valley Lake, near Bristol; 29 Sept 2015.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 195mm; 400 ISO; slight camera movement between two exposures; Color Efex Pro 4.

THOUGHTS

The final sentence of this quote speaks volumes to me, it has always been something from which I have derived great hope and reassurance.  Yes, there have been dark places, very dark, but those words have always been there too.

GRIEF,  AND A LITTLE GOOD CHEER TOO

When compiling this post, a few days ago, I intended finishing it with that section on “THOUGHTS”, with the reassurance of light in those dark places.  However, since then, two events have occurred.

First, I have learned of the death of an old friend, a good, humorous and eminently human man.  There is of course great sadness here, those dark places have come closer once more, but there is also great shock at the speed at which illness overtook him.  In memory of a good friend, and work colleague too, this post is dedicated to Bob Harte.

Second, and on a vastly more flippant and ephemeral plane, I – and without a doubt, many, many others – were substantially gladdened yesterday by the emphatic removal, at the ballot box, of Bristol’s first elected mayor.  I am no longer naïve enough to think that all is going to be roses and light from here on in, but I can’t help feeling that things are going to be, to some extent at least, on the up.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

33 Responses to FANTASY 37 – MAY IT BE A LIGHT TO YOU IN DARK PLACES, WHEN ALL OTHER LIGHTS GO OUT

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I love this – saw it while I was on vacation, and it was too difficult to comment on my phone, so I’m back. Better late than never.

    Like

  2. Helen Cherry says:

    I am sorry for the loss of your friend Adrian and Happy that Bristol has a Labour Mayor.. and such a good one too !

    Oh and I love what you have done here !

    Like

  3. Absolutely fabulous, bud. I see an upside down heart. Do you? ❤️

    Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    A very effective image, Adrian. A very poignant last line from The Lord of the Rings, which is so full of complex meanings.

    Like

  5. beautifully said and a superb image and thought. My condolences on your friend’s passing. Keep the light bright.

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    It’s been so long since I experimented with multiple exposures that I can’t remember the last time. I hope to be out and about in some woods again in about a month and will keep this in mind. I liked this very much at first glance, and am liking it more and more upon further study.

    Like

  7. A poetic image indeed! The multiple exposures work beautifully with that light 🙂

    Like

  8. So good feeling in this, Adrian! (…smiling for you…)

    Like

  9. What a beautiful post, Adrian. Love the contrast, both in your image and in your writing, between light and dark. Sorry for the loss of your friend. You’ve created a beautiful tribute. Have a wonderful Sunday.

    Like

  10. paula graham says:

    Great stuff. I love it. Bless.

    Like

  11. Meanderer says:

    What a beautiful and special image and post, Adrian. So sorry about the loss of your friend.

    Regarding the mayorship, I had been following the London mayor election with interest, but have no knowledge of the issues regarding the Bristol one – although I read that a Labour mayor has won. Will find out about it this morning.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks for your good words, M. I am very shocked by Bob’s passing, it came out of nowhere. Bristol’s first experiment with an elected mayor was a bit of a disaster – and its interesting that a referendum in Bath recently refused the idea. Basically, our first elected mayor failed to listen to what the people were saying – and now has been ejected by his rival’s nearly 30,000 majority – I know several people who usually wouldn’t think of voting, but who did so specifically to vote him out. A

      Like

  12. Congratulations for the election results!! I love this image – I have been experimenting with in camera multiple exposures, you have to choose your subject carefully and you have done it very well- this is beautiful. I’m sorry to hear of your loss and what a wonderful dedication – take care my friend.

    Like

  13. A beautiful post, my friend.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

