SOMERSET LEVELS 264 – SQUALL COMING, TADHAM MOOR (MONO)

 

 

squall-coming-tadham-moor-mono
.

Squall approaching, Tadham Moor; 29 Apr 2016.

I was down on the Somerset Levels last week on a cold, wet and blustery morning.  There were bare winter trees, there were fierce hailstorms too and, to my astonishment, my journey over the higher ground of the Mendip Hills had been accompanied by snowfall.  And yet all of this was only two days away from (what we Brits can only hope will be) May’s rising warmths and softnesses!  There are times when you just have to laugh at our British weather – if only because the alternative would be to weep.

Anyway, I was out on Tadham Moor, having a hot drink while sheltering behind my car from the gusting wind, when there was a perceptible stirring behind me, followed by a sudden and urgent freshening of the air.  I turned, saw this scene, and had time for a few hurried frames before those dark, trailing curtains translated into what they so clearly were – and my car was buffeted and rattled by a furious, near-horizontal deluge that lasted a minute or two and then raced on.

I wonder if summer is actually coming this year?  You never quite know in the UK.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Dynamic Harsh preset, and giving the result the look of Kodak Plus-X 125PX Pro black and white film.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 264 – SQUALL COMING, TADHAM MOOR (MONO)

  1. Meanderer says:

    Love this, Adrian: the composition; mono tones; and the shades and pattern of sheets of stormy rain drifting across. Unbelievable weather – I filmed a short snowy-hail storm with my phone, featuring the flakes falling in front of coniferous trees – would make a wonderful Winter card! Enjoying a bit of warm Spring now, though 😎

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      M, I’m very glad you like this, thank you. Yes, things seem to be warming up a bit – I wonder how this summer will go??? Enjoy the warmth, my friend! 🙂

      Like

  2. Always, always incredible. Thank you again, Adrian. I love what you find within your lens every time. That is a gift, my friend. 👍🏼

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you for your good words, Laura. I do enjoy creating images, and I’m helped I think (as is my cousin) by having had an artistic grandmother, whose traits we have. Both my cousin and I have spent our working lives in science, engineering and analysis, but we have always had an eye for images, and both of us have got more seriously into that side of ourselves later in our lives. A

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Very well shot, I do like it lots, so simple but such power! Summer??? Who knows..Today the rest of UK tropical…here..yes..rain.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

