PEOPLE 216 – SHADES, SCOOBIE’S AND ME (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

shades-scoobies-and-me
.

This image is best viewed enlarged – click onto it to open a larger version in a separate window.

Selfie in the main street of Perranporth, Cornwall; 14 Apr 2016.

A rack of trendy sunglasses outside one of this seaside town’s many gift shops and The FATman – forever vain! – snapping his reflection.

And although we didn’t go in there and get our snouts in their trough, google tells me that Scoobie’s is a diner.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Structure Harsh preset and selectively restoring colour; flipped to provide readable reflections.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

22 Responses to PEOPLE 216 – SHADES, SCOOBIE’S AND ME (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Very well seen, my friend. I can see you’ve lost a lot of weight too… Or am I wrong? Anyway, I really like this self portrait.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks for your good thoughts, my friend. Yes, over 13 months or so, I’ve lost 60 pounds in weight – maybe its become a lifestyle, not sure, but its ongoing >>> even tho I’m having beer + pizza + cheesecake this afternoon! 😉 😉 😉

      Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Brilliant! Love it 🙂

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    Clever processing, Adrian

    Like

  4. Brilliant! Love the framing – pun intended! 😀

    Like

  5. Genius and funny and love the touch of color surrounded by B&W. You look to be a shadow of your former self. We’ll need to go with No-longer-FATman photos. Hugs, bud. ❤️ XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hugs to you too, bud, glad the picture gets to you, thanks! Yes, I’ve lost 60 lbs, its quite hard work but I’m into it – and two of the key things for me are regular walks of around 80 mins – 2 hours, and having a spreadsheet that shows my weight as a chart so that I can see exactly where I’m at. I hope you’re all fine – I’m sure the puppy continues to be a great source of love and enjoyment. ATP XXX

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a tremendous image, Adrian. Wonderful composition and love just the bit of color. I can almost feel an abstract painting brewing! ❤

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well if you can almost feel a painting brewing, I can always be relied upon to shout “GO FOR IT, DO IT!!!”, along with >>>>> “KEEP ON KEEPING ON!!!” >>> I’m never one for understated enthusiasm … Glad the picture gets to you – thank you! Adding colour back into a b+w image is usually a tricky balance – “less is more” often applies.

      The difference between photography (which can certainly be art) and painted art is interesting. In painted art, you start with a blank canvas and then have the problem of deciding how to fill it, no easy task I do think. Whereas photography is manufactured at the push of a button – with one of the great questions being what to leave out, either at the point of capture or in post-capture processing. I tend to lean towards Minimalism, “less is more” and “small is beautiful” mean volumes to me, and the simple fact is that, in many instances, if a photo contains too many things, the eye is unable to fasten onto anything, and so is not held within the frame. A

      Liked by 1 person

  7. paula graham says:

    Brilliantly seen, my friend. Top marks!!

    Like

  8. Sallyann says:

    Am I mistaken in thinking that the Fatman in the reflection has had more than just a little success at becoming Thinman this year?
    If not, if this is an illustration caused by the glasses on sale. Then please, where can I buy these sunglasses in bulk… To hand out to the other guests at the four weddings I will be attending this year. 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Where can you buy them in bulk? Werle, darlin’, for a start, you don’t have to be in bulk, I mean, we don’t want the ******* talking scales saying “One at a time, please!”, do we? And, quite off the top of my head, I can most clearly see you going to purchase them in an off the shoulder creation in apricot organza … especially if its throwing it down cats and dogs … know what I mean? …

      And as regards THINman, when I was at my mostest, 13 months ago, I was 17 stone 10 lbs. The talking scales had to be taken to A&E but even there they had a big weight in the queue. Since then, I have lost exactly 60 lbs, mainly cranially it has to be admitted, and despite still guzzling lots of Belgian beer. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Carrie says:

    Awesome, Adrian! This is wonderful. Good to see you, well your reflection at least.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

