SOMERSET LEVELS 262 – DEATH OF A FRIEND

 

 

death-of-a-friend
.
This image is best viewed enlarged – click onto it to open a larger version in a separate window.

Fallen willow, a casualty of the recent storms, on the banks of the River Sheppey at Upper Godney; 1 Apr 2016.

A cold early morning, the frost still on the grass on the other side of this little river, but only a breath of breeze to make more penetrative the already incisive chill.  And an old tree, one I’ve known well, out for the count as they say.  Well, everything changes, nothing ever stays the same, and we must make the best we can of that “Fact of Life”.

The conventional thing would of course be to have had this image “the right way up”, in portrait orientation, and I have tried that.  But, although this is a picture of (more or less) reality, and a sad reality at that, I prefer it like this, to me it has more feel and impact to it in this orientation – and after all, if I’m going to show a sad event, let’s get something else out of it too – death can have its beauty too.

How do I see this image in my mind’s eye?  Well, if I let my mind go loose, that great, frosty wedge of grass on the opposite bank of the river looks like a sharp fang that is biting down deep into the picture’s heart; it is counterbalanced to some extent by the triangle of dark greenery at bottom right.  And, in this orientation, the tree is really not in too bad a position to be admired, not so flat out and fallen as it is in cold reality.

And finally, that great green fang biting down from the top of the picture has realities on either side, one real, one reflected – there are two cloudy skies and two trees down, and between them that great fang seems to me far nearer and more solid than either – its seems almost to be lifting up out of the image, almost as if it is biting down in front of the image.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 70mm; 3200 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4; 90 degrees’ anticlockwise rotation.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 262 – DEATH OF A FRIEND

  1. Meanderer says:

    How sad – but it looks like it has wings …….

    Like

  2. sadness!! your image evokes!

    Like

  3. Almost as if you also fell at the sight of it! Haunting and poignant Adrian.

    Like

  4. Edwin Roman says:

    Unique and nothing short of outstanding!

    Like

  5. I think the half-cocked version is weird and wonderful. Yes. Beautiful in any language. 😉
    XXX ATP XXX

    Like

  6. bluebrightly says:

    I have to say I think I would prefer it “right way up” but this is interesting, for sure. And it’s too bad the tree was lost, as you don’t have a zillion more around there, do you?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lynn, I appreciate your candour, its good to hear what you think. But I’m always looking at things in different ways – that’s a part of the visual me, I suppose. There are quite a lot of trees on the Levels, no real forests like you have in the States for sure, but there are “trees that like to get their feet wet” beside many of the smaller waterways, and there are also small areas of “wetland woodland”. But because the soil in some areas is so wet that large trees that can’t get a good grip on it, occurrences like that shown here do happen >>> one part of me thinks it sad, while another knows that its just how things are! 🙂

      Like

  7. paula graham says:

    I thought it odd, at first but the oddity makes you look at it better and contemplate what you mean to say

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh it is odd, and so am I, but having it the right way up really feels to me like having it going off at half-cock, having it the right way up just seems to be missing something.

      Like

  8. La revue de Claire says:

    Beautiful

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

