ARCHIVE 226 – NAKURU DAWN

ADL382aX
.
Dawn mists rise above Lake Nakuru, central Kenya; January 1978.

The large, white birds with huge bills in the foreground are White Pelicans.  In the lake behind them are the trunks of trees that, flooded by the lake, have been killed by the high concentration of sodium bicarbonate in its waters. Cormorants (the same bird as in the UK) perch on these dead trunks, and a nest of sticks is also visible.

This lake is over a mile above sea level and so, particularly after a clear night, the whole place can be pretty chilly by first light – standing around taking pictures, waiting for the sunrise, we were well wrapped up!  At altitudes a little above this – and right on the equator – frosts can occur.

Clicking onto this image opens a (slightly) larger version in a separate window.

Vivitar 400mm telephoto on Olympus SLR, mounted on a tripod; colour transparency.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

28 Responses to ARCHIVE 226 – NAKURU DAWN

  1. Meanderer says:

    Remember this one from before; still strong.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    At first I saw green shoots forcing their way upwards through baron ground, leaves, as yet unopened heading for the sky.
    My mind’s eye then stepped backwards and as the shoots moved to the distance they became bare, stick-like trees, but not all of them, two robed figures wandered around in the stark wildernesses, the slightly more distant one to the left leaning on his own stick.
    Their quiet pilgrimage suddenly became in a noisy din as they too turned to upright sticks, awash in the Lake and the stones in the foreground changed into birds with huge beaks waiting for their breakfast. What noise do pelicans make?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      OMG, I can actually see the two robed figures – oh this is eerie! But don’t know about the pelicans’ noise, its all pelecanese to me … 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sallyann says:

        In my defence, I had just woken up.
        However sometimes when I wake up I’ve already lived a day in my dreams and don’t understand why I’m still in bed.
        My world is very often strange and eerie, buton the plus side, is very seldom boring. 😊

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Absolutely no need to defend yourself on this blog, O Wonderful One! I have weird dreams too, they’re very seldom nice dreams, just really strange. And I still worry in my dreams about not having done enough work to pass my exams >>> which just goes to show how much impact all that damned schooling has had on me – virtually my last exams were 45 years ago! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sallyann says:

            I believe we can fix that dream for you…
            I hereby award you a free pass, it will take the form of a small round pebble. Next time you are in a dream worrying about your schoolwork, you will feel it in your hand. Squeeze it tightly, then look down at your hand and open your fingers slowly, concentrating on the pebble.
            When you look up from your hand you will have moved on to an altogether more pleasant part of the dream.
            You’ll have to trust me on this one, it will work. 😊

            Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    I love this image–really unforgettable!

    Like

  4. This one mesmerizes me, bud. Pelicans and cormorants both have a special place in my heart for two separate reasons and the misty, fogginess blows me away. Love it. XXX ATP XXX Hope your well. ❤️

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gem, I’m very glad that this gets to you so much – would you like me to send you a best quality jpeg? Well, it has to be said that healthwise I’ve been going through a rather bumpy patch, and I’m still a little fragile, but getting there. Let me know about the jpeg. ATP xxx

      Like

  5. La revue de Claire says:

    Beautiful

    Like

  6. paula graham says:

    What a stunning place…it has obviously must have left a deep impression in your memories and soul, having spend so much time in these faraway lands.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

