ARCHIVE 223 – SCORPION: 1

 

 

ADL227X
.
Scorpion at Ngulia Lodge in Tsavo West National Park, Kenya; probably early 1980s.

The famous sting, capable of causing intense pain or death, can just be seen, out of focus, as a curved, thorn-like structure at the very end of the tail.

I didn’t encounter many of these arachnids in Kenya, but they were not uncommon under stones in Oman.  Prior to visiting Oman, I had to learn to both administer and receive intravenous serums for scorpion stings and snake bites.  With a large needle probing for suitable veins – whether mine or someone else’s – I invariably passed out.  I would regain consciousness lying flat out on the floor, looking up at a ring of people laughing down at me.

So the outcome was only too plain to see.  Someone would get bitten or stung by one of these nasties, and up I would rush brandishing the huge needle – and then there would be two of us, out stone cold on the desert’s sand …..

OM-2 with 50mm Zuiko and TTL metered flash; Agfa CT18 colour slide, rated at 64 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

28 Responses to ARCHIVE 223 – SCORPION: 1

  1. bluebrightly says:

    What a story…

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    I saw this on the reader and made a mental note to come back later…. Then my brain promptly filed the mental note in an old dusty locked filing cabinet in the back of beyond somewhere. 😊
    I’ve never seen a live scorpion but being inquisitive (long word for me, thank goodness for predicted text) I’d probably be there with the camera too.
    I don’t really go in for this star sign stuff, but I have a friend who does. Being born at the end of October, many, many moons ago, I’m a scorpion and my friend tells me I fit very well into that category. I guess I like hiding under stones too, and I’m quite harmless really if left alone, but I most definitely have a very nasty sting in my tail if I need to use it. 😀

    Like

  3. ouch!!! and that is a scary sight but it might be frightening to see you advancing with the syringe too!!

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    In all my travels, I’ve only encountered one scorpion, and that was in Texas in 1964, and I was actually turning stones over, looking for one. It was small enough that I was able to coax it into a matchbox, so that I could show some friends that I’d really found one, before I released it again. Really fascinating critters, though much better–and much more safely–admired from a reasonable distance!

    Like

  5. You are hysterical! And I’m with ya on that passing out business. I’d be out cold!! XXX ATP XXX ❤️

    Like

  6. Hello Adrian, hope you are well. Amazing image and visions of you and the needle!! 😄😄

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, Lisa >>> not well, as it happens, recovering from a bout of Levels food poisoning! >>> but getting there!!! 🙂 Haha! the things I did in my youth – glad it gets to you. And as we inch towards spring – the first (bird) migrants are in from Africa … I’m getting to sound like Joni Mitchell … – you’re pushing on into autumn. I hope all is going well for you. Bristol has an appalling elected mayor, and I’m hoping (praying) that he’ll be voted out soon. Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. sevenroses says:

    Very handsome

    Like

  8. La revue de Claire says:

    Beautiful picture

    Like

  9. paula graham says:

    Oh wow, I would run a mile if I saw that..not too good with creepy crawlers at the best of times!! Wonderful place to have spent so much time in.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well, its strange what sorts of things you can get accustomed to if you have to – cultivating an air of enquiry and curiosity is a help – we were all photographers (and geologists, nearly forgot that bit!) in Oman, and when nasties appeared there was always a scramble to get in close and photograph them! 🙂

      Like

  10. Robert says:

    Just as well you’re in England 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hahaha! you got that right, Robert! But its surprising how one gets used to things – finding “nasties” under stones became just a part of things, a part of life – and living in Aussie you know that too, you certainly have your share of villains over there. I’m a bit better receiving needles now, but how I would be if I ever had to administer them again I hate to think! Cheers, man! Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

