STILL LIFE 30 – PLANT, BEHIND NET CURTAINS

 

 

plant-behind-net-curtains
.
Plant in our front garden, seen through our net curtains; 8 Sept 2015.

Taken from my armchair in our living room’s bay window, while I was sipping Westons’ Old Rosie, a very smooth, cloudy cider.

A plant is pressed up against the outside of the window (the garden is trying to invade the house! >>> The Day Of The Triffids comes to mind) and its green leaves are glimpsed through the net curtains’ mesh.  Underexposure produces this scene.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 120mm; 400 ISO; Capture NX2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

19 Responses to STILL LIFE 30 – PLANT, BEHIND NET CURTAINS

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I like the effect very much – like a stain on the curtains, in a good way. Seeing things behind a scrim of some sort is an ongoing fascination of mine.

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Love this one, Adrian – especially the little green glimpses through the nets 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, the little green bits make it, don’t they? Thank you! But oh dear, I went to the Levels early on Friday – and ate two (in retrospect) unwise things, and have been flattened ever since by food poisoning – starting to feel a little more human now. 😦

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        Oh, that’s not good. What did you eat?

        I had a minor bout of food poisoning when I was away in Wales recently. Not pleasant at all 😦

        Glad you’re starting to feel better.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh dear me, now feeling fragile as a resurgence of said malaise! I ate what in retrospect I can see was a distinctly dodgy Sainsburys sandwich but, even more dodgy, there was some rather too soft, homemade chocolate from a farm shop – I’ve even been off the Duvel for a few days which is altogether too serious – I may make a FATmanful effort to reverse that trend today.

          Like

          • Meanderer says:

            I hope it hasn’t put you off chocolate! It does sound like a rather serious bout of food poisoning – not good, but I hope you feel well enough for the Duvel later ………. or maybe an alcoholic ginger beer; they are rather nice, and ginger is very good for settling the digestive system 🙂

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Thanks, M. Well, 6 days into the gastroenteritic WONDERLAND that is FATman TODAY, and today is the first time I’ve felt well enough to go out of the house, but it is all slowly going away >>> and I DO have a bottle of alcoholic ginger beer, which I shall down prior to a few Duvels tomorrow – so thanks for the tip on that! Looks like the BBC shop has reinvented itself as downloads only – personally I much prefer DVDs. Don’t know if you’ve seen them, but wonderful BBC4 series Treasures of the Indus for past three weeks or so, wonderful presenter too. A 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Very attractive and inventive, I like the originality and colour palette lots.

    Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Hey, nice nets. 😊

    Like

  5. Great capture, bud. (But I expect nothing less) LOL

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gee thanks, bud! How’s that for genu-ine american? LOL!!! Must take the pills more often … How are you getting on – any more thoughts about “relocating”? I hope you’re all fine. ATP xxx

      Like

      • No relocating right now. The fact thoughts are there but that’s as far as it goes. Fine as can be. You? ATP XXX

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well I would answer “fine”, but I picked up a dose of food poisoning on the Levels on Friday that has completely flattened me, and although I’m coming out of it now, I still feel very, very fragile. But, other than that, we are ok, thanks. ATP xxx

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

