STILL LIFE 31 – SUNLIGHT DAPPLING CURTAINS (MONO)

sunlight-dappling-curtains-mono
.

This picture is best viewed enlarged – click onto it to see a larger version in a separate window.

Sunlight dappling our front room curtains with the shadows of net curtains; Bristol, 8 Sept 2015.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m relaxing at home I like some degree of privacy – I don’t want to have in the back of my mind the thought that someone may looking in at me and thinking “Oh there’s that fat old ****, sound asleep – and no doubt drunk! –  as usual!”.  I want some privacy so that, totally uninhibited, I can really – mindlessly – chill out.

The problem that we have is that the room in which we spend much of our time is  slightly below the level of the street outside, with only a thin strip of front garden separating us from an often busy pavement.  So that, were we to have only a single set of curtains (drapes) which we pulled each evening, everyone passing by would be able to gaze in at us all day – it would be a bit like being on a reality TV set.

To combat this we have two sets of curtains, nets that are closed at all times to provide us with some privacy while still allowing through lovely, slightly softened light, and thicker curtains that are closed at dusk.  In this image, on a beautifully sunny day, shadows cast by the net curtains fall across the drawn back thicker curtains.

D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 120mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Green preset and adding a strong copper tone; camera tilted for the exposure.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to STILL LIFE 31 – SUNLIGHT DAPPLING CURTAINS (MONO)

  1. fantastic study!! the shadows and light on the folds. You are very mysterious!!

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Very well exposed…the shot, not you!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Paula! And as for well exposed, well there are those shots of me … after the bath water ran out … 😉 …. though what a vegetarian might make of them … is uncertain …

      Like

  3. bananabatman says:

    We all need our privacy Adrian. Your choice has made a great image but I’m left wondering what colour the curtains actually were, though I don’t really need to know. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The curtains are a pale lime green >>> but black and white (and SEP2!) called, and thence to a copper tone, in the spirit of experimentation that often possesses me! Glad you like the result. A

      Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    I’m with you on the nets, I particularly like how they let you watch the world go by… Without it watching you back.
    Do you find they do collect dust though. I recently put my nets through the wash and they let so much more light through than they did before.
    While the nets were down I put some serious thought into washing the windows. I thought the room might be lighter still if the glass was clean, then I thought about how many people would notice and I just put the nets back up.
    After all, it’s the thought that counts.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh yes they collect dust but (a) who cares? and (b) if the dust is on them then its not on somewhere else … FATman, he can be some quite damn fundamental thinker, from time to time …

      And I agree with your second paragraph 101%, and then some! Bring it on!!! (but no point in washing it off!) 😀

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

