ARCHIVE 221 – FLIGHT (MONO)

 

 

newq_0316Holga_2X
.
Black-headed Gull, Chew Valley Lake, near Bristol; 27 Sept 2013.

This picture is about shape and design.  The bird’s head and torso, and the root of its left wing, are squashed down into the lower left of the frame – and just about to leave the frame.  We just catch sight of the dark bill, eye and mark behind the eye, which serve to give the creature some structure and identity.

But the real subject of the shot is the streamlined wing that cuts a diagonal across the frame, to end in those dark, pointed flight feathers (primary flight feathers, as birders know them), the longest of which look like the long, black, manicured fingernails of a woman – the end of the wing reminds me of a set of sharp fingers reaching up against the sky.

Click onto the image if you would like to see a rather larger version in a separate window.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Holga preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to ARCHIVE 221 – FLIGHT (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I like this view very much – it’s very real – very like the way we see birds oftentimes – just edging off to the side of our field of view.
    Apparently we had a BBGU here recently, not far from where I live. Well, I missed it! But in the process of exploring I found a new site (new to me) – http://hotspotbirding.com/index – kind of fun. Amazing how birding has evolved over the last 40 years. Dating myself, but I know you know! 😉

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Lynn >>> yes, exactly, just how we see birds sometimes – partial glimpses of something flashing by – we taught ourselves to see things very quickly, and in detail – which probably aids our photography I think.

      Thanks for the link – yes, birding is right up there high tech now >>> which was useful to me around the year 2000, when I was trying to find some difficult species – I’d set myself the target of see all of the birds again that I’d seen in the UK prior to leaving for Africa in 1977. And the internet helped me find all but a handful of rarities. But I’m out of all that now – as a famous bird tour leader that I used to work with on Kenyan safaris said, he’d tired of charging off pursuing rarities in the UK because they’d often disappear before he reached them, and that was a great source of stress and disappointment. I feel the same. I still go out with binoculars sometimes, but its really to look at whatever’s around. A 🙂

      Like

  2. fantastic crop and angle!!

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Love the shot…artistic, different, unexpected, daring!, controversial. Well done you, I admire that.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Excellent! >>> very glad it gets to you! I try to be at least some of the wonderful adjectives you mention but, as you know, its often hard work. Have found another of my favourite Belgian beers in a Waitrose this morning, I recommend it – Westmalle Dubbel – right up there in quality and taste with Forbidden Fruit! xxx

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

