GARDEN 68 – FOX

 

 

fox
.
Fox (aka Red Fox) at the bottom of our garden; 7 March 2016.

Not a great shot – just about sharp enough and taken through our kitchen window in difficult cross-lighting – he was sitting down having a good scratch and, catching a glimpse of me, abruptly looked up before returning to his toilet.  Here is another creature whose visits we value highly, and who is no doubt at least partly responsible for hoovering up the food scraps that we leave out on our back lawn overnight.

Bristol is well known for its urban foxes, but they have been decimated by outbreaks of mange, a skin disease caused by parasitic mites, over the years.  Another individual that came through our garden last month seemed to be affected by mange, but this one looks healthier.

Years ago, it could be 15 or 20 years back, I used to feed dog biscuits to a female (vixen) and we got to know each other a little.  On seeing her in the garden, I’d tap on the window and she’d sit down on the grass and wait for me to appear with the goodies.  I’d then put the biscuits down beside the path, retreat 10 feet or so and sit down, and she’d come and eat them – and I’d talk to her about anything that came to mind.  Later she re-appeared with cubs, which were delightful.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 1600 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to GARDEN 68 – FOX

  1. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    Lovely story, my friend. Isn’t it great to have a friend like that? Lovely photo of this little fellow 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh yes, interacting with natural things us always wonderful – on a cold day, I remember a butterfly climbing up on to my finger, presumably for the warmth, and that was a very memorable experience. Thank you for your thoughts, my friend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love foxes and what a wonderful story!

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    That’s a lovely image, Adrian, taken in mid-scratch. I like the way he is looking directly at you. How wonderful that they visit your garden.

    Like

  4. bluebrightly says:

    Great story, and yes, this fella looks healthy! We’re too urban where I live for foxes but we have coyotes. The one time I ever caught a glimpse, I was happy to see it too looked healthy. I remember seeing one ambling down a suburban street not far north of New York City some years back that was just horrid with mange, and thin. This one – I just want to scrunch my hand deep into that fur!

    Like

  5. sevenroses says:

    what a lovely silver grey jacket

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

