ARCHIVE 219 – THE TIDE COMING IN (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

cor_222aX
.
The incoming tide sends a wave across the sunlit beach below the end of Smeaton’s Pier, St Ives, Cornwall; 27 Sept 2012.

This is the view vertically downwards from the end of the pier, looking down on the surge of clear water across the harbour’s golden sands.  The network of froth on the wave’s top casts shadows on the sand below, which remind me of the shadows seen below clouds from an aircraft. 

This effect is also seen on the sand which this wave has yet to reach, where very small remnants of froth from previous waves (e.g lower right) give the effect of a landscape sparsely dotted with cumulus clouds seen from a satellite or very high flying aircraft.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 70mm; 400 ISO; converted to mono and selectively re-coloured in Silver Efex Pro 2; rotated 90 degrees anti-clockwise and then horizontally flipped.

UPDATE:  I like this.  Reintroducing colour to an image processed in black and white has made it look just a little strange and unreal, but that’s more than OK with me – bring it on!!!  And Time – ever raging forward and making me (us!) older every day – raises its sobering head in two ways.  First, I can’t believe that over three years have passed since I shot this.  And second, it was also over three years ago that I last made my “workstation” (I use that word in its very loosest sense) shake, rattle and roll in a place of work – I have been retired for over three years, and although oodles of cash are always nice, I have not the slightest inclination ever to work again! 

Many are apprehensive about the prospect of retirement and I can quite understand why, but I do recommend it.  It can be quite a change extracting oneself from the “rat race” and the “work ethic” (although I’m not too sure I got that far into the latter) but, unlike a visit to the dentist, this has for me been a relatively painless extraction.  The only aspect of work that I miss is the intellectual challenge of having to programme my way through complex information requests – the vast majority of which emanated from the dear old UK “Government”. 

So what has all this got to do with sunlit and tide-swept Cornish beaches?  Well, not a lot maybe – except that Natural things like these beaches are really very good, almost unfailing in fact, at taking your mind off all the other stuff.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to ARCHIVE 219 – THE TIDE COMING IN (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Three years! Doesn’t time fly when you’re having fun. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes it does, Oh Good Friend, but it also flies by at an equal if not greater rate as you become more “senior”!!! And the secret of making it fly by even faster, should anyone have that yearning, is to get into a routine of any type. But slowing things down – well “being” instead of “doing” seems to achieve that at least a bit. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Love this image, and where it took you. I’m swamped in work these days, hence my absence, and long for retirement but feel I need to save more, as I’m very aware of the large sums needed to get through the next phase of life.
    🙂 I don’t’ mean to be a party pooper!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, money is the thing, isn’t it. I must be honest and say that we don’t have a lot but we do have enough for our fairly simple tastes and lifestyles. And neither of us has huge aspirations for things to do during retirement, we’re just both happy to have stopped working, and to be living simple, non-stressed lives. No – no suggestions of you being a party pooper (which I had to look up on Google, as I did gestalt! – of course I’m cosmopolitan … or is that a type of ice cream? …) There is obviously the money thing during retirement – and there’s also the change in lifestyle – I can be quite lazy, I’ve had periods of frenetic work in my life, and periods where I’ve managed to get by doing relatively little too – and one thing about retirement is that it gives you the choice of how busy you want to be, and each day can be different. A

      Like

      • bluebrightly says:

        Yes, simple is good – I just am hyper aware of the money needed once one can’t care for oneself so well. I love your last comment – each day a different one – nice! I think you and I both have broad interests and appreciate variety.

        Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

