ARCHIVE 214 – EIGHT LEGS GOOD (MONO)

 

 

uio_1025HighStructureSmoothX
.

A small spider scampers up a strand of its web (which can just be seen), moving towards upper left – early morning in our Bristol garden; 27 July 2013.

Early yesterday morning I was out in the garden with my macro lens and an “anything goes”, “let’s do it!” attitude.  I like this lens a lot.  It has fast and accurate autofocus, a built in vibration reducer that certainly works, and a maximum aperture of f2.8, which makes for great differential focusing.  Its obviously my first choice for macro (which Nikon calls “Micro” for a reason I forget), but its also extremely useful for closer range, people shots.

And there was this tiny spider running around its rather sparse web, which it had built in the top of a hedge – just below the towering Ash sapling that I pictured recently.  And I thought – “Have a go!”.  All started badly, as I had the lens set up for all but very close distances – DOH!!! – and then I went bog-eyed trying to keep up with the little mite as it busily went about (presumably) finding and killing things.

It was small –  I guess the body plus head was less than one fifth of an inch – and I rapidly accumulated impressive numbers of failures.  I didn’t certainly know that they were failures at the time because I wasn’t about to waste time looking at them on the camera’s screen – such judgements were for the computer screen later on – but I had a feeling that the contest’s outcome was going to be Spider won, Lewis lost …

And I was right.  On looking at the enlarged images, most were at best Impressionistic – which is what I try to palm images off as when they’re soft – but this miracle has the eyes sharp, and so here he / she / it is!

Click onto the image to open a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 640 ISO; converted to mono with Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Structure Smooth preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

4 Responses to ARCHIVE 214 – EIGHT LEGS GOOD (MONO)

  1. krikitarts says:

    Once again, the payoff is for patience and perseverance. Lovely result, my friend.

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Brilliant…love the processing, the light on ‘critter’ just right.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

