ARCHIVE 212 – DOMINANT FEMALE (MONO)

 

 

AdNa_328bX

.

Dominant female, amongst guests at a wedding reception; 17 Aug 2011.

D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 120mm; 1000 ISO; conversion to mono in Silver Efex Pro.

UPDATE: I certainly didn’t have this interpretation of the shot in mind when I took it, nor when it was first posted here over 4 years ago .

The other three people present are dark, placid even – and even I can see that the jeans on the left are not “natty gents’ wedding wear” – tho maybe for “The Younger Generation” this no longer matters, which is an attitude I wholeheartedly applaud.

But the person in the right foreground is bright and smart, probably in all senses of those terms, and elegant even – and that pose is nothing if not assertive.

.

.

.

 

 

 

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to ARCHIVE 212 – DOMINANT FEMALE (MONO)

  1. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    I fully agree with Paula here 🙂

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Great Image – I am immediately reminded of work by Elliott Erwitt with pairs of legs. Superb, Adrian.

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Oh Bless…!! I admire strong, ‘dominant’ women, we had to fight long and hard for equality and are still not there. xx

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, very true, women are still not (quite?) there, though matters have improved greatly in your and my lifetimes. Our country is supposedly so democratic and free and full of equality and yet, for all the rhetoric, there are many instances where basic freedoms and equalities need to be struggled for. For me, and probably as result of my advancing years, I really can’t be bothered with all this dominance stuff, I’m happy just to be on equal terms with people. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

