SOMERSET LEVELS 253 – THE VIEW EASTWARDS, BUTLEIGH MOOR (MONO)

 

 

the-view-eastwards-butleigh-moor
.

This image is best viewed enlarged: click onto it to open a larger version in a separate window.

The view eastwards on Butleigh Moor, south of the Polden Hills; 13 Jan 2016.

Just after sunrise on an icy but (thankfully!) still morning.  Butleigh Drove, a thin strip of uneven tarmac arrowing off eastwards, guarded on its right by a long line of heavily pruned willows which make strong silhouettes against the bright light that angles in low from the southeast.  

Parking even my small car on this single track road would completely block it, and so I edged it into the flooded entrance to a field, got out onto the ice and promptly went through into the freezing water below – thanking Whatever Powers There May Be for the invention of Wellington boots –  gasped at the cold, hit the hot coffee, and then set about crouching down behind this starkly silhouetted being, placing it between my lens and the sun’s dazzling, near horizontal brilliance.

The ice stayed all day and any feeling in my feet was soon lost, but the sun stayed too – and that made everything alright.

D800 with 16-35 Nikkor at 16mm; 100 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Antique Plate 2 preset and adding a tone.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 253 – THE VIEW EASTWARDS, BUTLEIGH MOOR (MONO)

  1. Meanderer says:

    Lovely and moody, Adrian – the atmosphere added to by your description of the icy conditions!

    Like

  2. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    “My feet was soon lost” – I know the feeling. 🙂

    Amazingly beautiful image, my friend. Lovely tones.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh yes, the cold on our Gulf Stream-warmed island doesn’t match what you regularly endure in Scandinavia – but the temperatures here are cold enough for me! One thing I’m finding about getting older – and which I know many others experience too – is that I feel heat and cold much more than I used to >>> so wrapping up in many layers is the order of the day – along with lots of hot coffee and glorious, glorious grub!!! I’m very glad that you like this image – thank you for your good words, my friend. 🙂

      Like

  3. you are a brave soul!! But a beautiful silhouette monochrome!

    Like

  4. What an artist won’t do for his craft! Always loving the misty, mystical shots. ❤️ XXX ATP XXX

    Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Sorry , if I bombard you with messages!! Please delete freely!

    Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Pearly words flown again…what is going on …are you ok??

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Ah, I’ve just had a thought … some blood must have got into my alcohol stream … all comments appearing on my blog have to be ok’d by me before they appear – just in case anyone tries to send anything OTT >>> so maybe you’re making your comments to me, but then not seeing them until I ok them – which is often not instantaneously >>> especially if I’ve got my snout into myriad tankards of Forbidden Fruit!!! Yes I’m fine, thanks for asking!!! 🙂

      Like

  7. bluebrightly says:

    What a strong atmosphere this photo has. The being reaches out and the road goes on…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, absolutely, “the being” >>> that’s exactly what it is! I know that you and I think very similarly on that point, generally. Thanks for your good words, Lynn – and for all of these comments – I love hearing from you in particular and from people in general! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  8. paula graham says:

    I do not understand: I often notice that my sweet words of praise just seem to disappear into cyber space..I reacted to the photo this morning and now..gone!! What is going on??

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      As I said to you, nothing’s going on >>> you can see your first comment below here >>> or is it a case of Dutch Comment Disease?????!!! 😉 Hope you’re very fine, my friend. Adrian xxx

      Like

  9. paula graham says:

    ‘Funny’ story , eventually resulting in such a wonderful shot, moody, cold , desolate. Great stuff.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

