ARCHIVE 208 – EARLY MORNING AT TEALHAM, WITH A SMALL CAMERA

 

 

IMG_1098X
.
The view eastwards from the Jack’s Drove bridge over the North Drain; Tealham Moor, Somerset Levels; 17 Sept 2010.

Just around sunrise, with mists lifting off the water and drifting over the fields.  A truly magical place.

Click onto the picture to see a rather larger version in a separate window.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (equivalent); 200 ISO.

UPDATE: I remember this day.  I’d decided upon a “Spartan” approach to the day’s photography and so, rather than taking full-frame Nikon gear, had carried instead just the little Canon PowerShot.  Only to meet a chap with a huge Nikon, and really the biggest telephoto I’ve ever seen, probably the 800mm Nikkor I guess.  So we talked photography while he fondled his gear and, finally – inevitably! – he asked what camera I was using >>> and, I’ll never forget,  on being shown the PowerShot, he said “Oh, you’ve got THAT have you!” – which was better than merely receiving a superior smirk! 

Of course the G11 was much newer in those days, in fact it may have just come out – and it was a little revolutionary in that, rather than Canon slavishly following the ever-more-pixels race, they’d actually produced a model with FEWER pixels than its predecessor, in a successful (yes, successful) attempt to improve image quality >>> so this was maybe what stirred this chap’s admiration!

But as I got up to the bridge, looked eastwards and saw this scene I cursed not having brought my very much loved Nikon 70-300 zoom along – only to be very impressed by what the G11 was capable of – I remember looking down into its fully articulated screen and saying “If I can see that on the screen, that’s how the image will look!”.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

19 Responses to ARCHIVE 208 – EARLY MORNING AT TEALHAM, WITH A SMALL CAMERA

  1. Adrian, This is absolutely gorgeous!

    Like

  2. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    “The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it” (Ansel Adams). This says it all!

    This image is just wonderful… I’ve never been to England, but I’ve seen a lot of images, movies and so on… So, this is England for me

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I certainly agree with that quote – and that said, its also important to have a camera that one feels at home with, so that many if not most of the necessary adjustments can be made instinctively, so that the photographer’s mind is freed to think about such things are framing, composition and so on. One of the things about England is that it is a land of many faces – some parts are quite rugged, but this a shot from the softer, moist lowlands. I’m glad you like it, my friend. I hope this finds you well and fine. A 🙂

      Like

  3. bluebrightly says:

    Well, camera envy aside, it’s lovely.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend, thank you! Haha! camera envy – we humans are a strange lot, aren’t we? We love to posture and show off, right up to internationally – no wonder we end up spending some much time trying to kill each other off! 🙂

      Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    This is a wonderful image, Adrian – and all the more wonderful because it was captured with such a camera.

    Like

  5. Well whatever you did, it worked. The reflections are mystical. ❤️ XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend, thank you! I hope 2016 is being good to you. I did any early trip out yesterday, out onto the Levels some way south of where this was taken, and I’m feeling tired tired tired today! Feeling old in fact!!! 😦 But brightened up by talking to you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Small can be powerful and extremely useful 😉 I do love the mist and subtle reflections!

    Like

  7. paula graham says:

    Strange..I have responded to this post earlier in the day…it seems to have vanished in thin air?? Again, I know these types with enormous lenses….ha, ha…never mind , you took a good photo with the lovely light you had. It is the photographer who take the photo, not the camera…that is just a machine!!! Nice though!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      You’re getting a compex about this, my friend >>> your first Comment arrived on my blog ok >>> but as your second attempt is fuller I’m showing only that – maybe you have a browser problem – but every time you’ve talked of “disappearing Comments”, all has been ok this end! Glad you like the picture – thank you! I despair at Nikon’s new cameras – one way above my pocket (D5), the other DX format (D500) – I’m hoping for a cheaper version of the D5 in the pipeline! Hope you’re fine. A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

