SOMERSET LEVELS 252 – WILLOWS IN THE MIST, TADHAM MOOR (MONO)

 

 

willows-in-the-mist-tadham-moor-mono
.

This photo is best viewed enlarged – click onto it to open a larger version in a separate window.

Misty morning, Tadham Moor; 8 Apr 2015.

What can we see?  A line of fence posts angle into the foreground, with their reflections in a water-filled ditch.  And on a horizon which the fog has brought far nearer than usual, a line of bare, pollarded willows (more about pollarding, and the Levels, can be found here).

To the left of the willows is a solid, squat structure that resembles a pillbox, one the concrete strong points left over from World War II that still stand mute guard over these flatlands.  But in fact this structure houses a pump that helps control the water levels in the myriad wet ditches – like the one in the foreground –  that drain this often sodden ground.

And finally, to the right of the willows, the shifting mist grudgingly reveals short fences that mark the point where a small bridge crosses the water-filled ditch, so that the farmer can move his animals to and from his land.

Quintessential Levels – wet ditches,  pollarded trees – and mist.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 116mm; +0.7EV 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Antique Portrait preset and adding a blue tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 252 – WILLOWS IN THE MIST, TADHAM MOOR (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    It’s hard to keep up with you! SO many new photos since I was here…this is beautiful.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! But, actually, I’m posting less these days, running out of steam a little maybe – a year or more back I was posting daily but I’m not sure the oomph is there is such quantities now! Glad you like my images – thank you! A

      Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Another inspiring image of a grey misty day! I have to say, I’m not feeling very inspired by all the grey and murk at the moment.

    All the very best for 2016 to you and yours, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Grey and murk – well that’s England! Still we are past the shortest day, and I’m hoping to start getting around more, haven’t been to the Levels for sometime. I hope brightness comes for you – and that your 2016 will be good. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Patty Nguyen says:

    I clicked to enlarge as you suggested, and was mighty glad I did. Fabulous work, as always. Cheers to 2016!

    Like

  4. Quintessential. I love that word. Long story. I’ll fill you someday. 😉
    Fabulous foggy foto. ❤️
    XXX ATP XXX

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Love the “F” alliteration (is that the word???) – have tried saying it but ended up with my keyboard covered in drool – well darling, truly it got just a little droolly here, don’t y’ know?! Would love to hear about quintessential! Hope 2016 is good for you both. ATP XXX

      Like

  5. That’s a great shot. I find myself squinting at the photo in order to see more, and obviously that won’t work 😉

    Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Beautiful and very much like the part of the Netherlands, where I grew up.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

