ARCHIVE 202 – AUTUMN GULL, A FAVOURITE PICTURE (MONO)

 

 

cor_397AntiquePlate1X
.

This image is best viewed at full size – click onto it to see a larger version in a separate window.

Herring Gull: winter plumaged adult at St Ives, Cornwall; 27 Sept 2012.

This individual is sitting on a wall, but I want to show nothing but the bird and its overcast backdrop and so have cropped the wall out.  Mono simplifies the picture, and gives the impression of  a tough and rugged individual used to enduring the dull, overcast, wintery conditions.

These birds have pure white heads in summer, but this one has the streaked head and neck that appears later in the year.

I like the detail in the feathering at lower left, especially the single feather sticking up from the rest.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; converted to mono with Silver Efex Pro 2, starting from the Antique Plate 1 preset.

UPDATE: one of my very favourite images, an image that I am both pleased with and proud of.  I am of course a huge fan of natural things – unlike many other things in this world, they never, ever bore me.  And here, in my eyes at least, is the portrait of a very beautiful living creature which, as I say above, ” gives the impression of  a tough and rugged individual used to enduring the dull, overcast, wintery conditions.”.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to ARCHIVE 202 – AUTUMN GULL, A FAVOURITE PICTURE (MONO)

  1. Stunning image Adrian – you’re right to be pleased with it. Everything is just right and I love the toning 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lisa, that’s very good to hear – thank you! We are having incredibly mild – maybe record-breakingly mild – weather, which apparently is set to last awhile – days STARTING at 12C in mid December, when we ought to be freezing! Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That puffed out chest! Add determined to tough and rugged. XXX ATP XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good to hear from you, ATP!!! I hope that things are stable, and that you and Jeff are on course for a good Christmas! And oh yes, he’s (or she’s) determined – you don’t mess around with him! Take care, my friend. ATP xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Oh, a lovely gull shot, the feather is an important feature!

    Like

  4. LensScaper says:

    What a great shot, Adrian. That upturned feather is the icing on the cake.

    Like

  5. Looks very good full screen, Adrian. Reminds of what a good lens the 70-300 is, compared to it’s price. I still have it; and the D700 as well; but I mainly go out with the smaller, 24mp SONY A7. But for shooting close-ups in a (dark) theater the D700/70-300 beats the SONY by far.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Harrie, I’m glad you like it – thank you! Yes the D700 with the 70-300 is my favourite combination, I’ve used it for so many pictures – and I especially like its performance in poor light. The 70-300 comes up with the goods time and again, a wonderful lens – and if I could find a new or very little used D700 I would immediately buy it!!! I’m interested that you have the Sony A7 – in summary, how do you find it – especially in low light and at higher ISOs? I’m having thoughts about another camera but have no idea what to get. I’m also waiting to see what Nikon comes up with in 2016 – they will never do it, but if they came up with a 12 MP D700-type camera I’d get it at once! Adrian

      Like

      • May be…: http://www.marktplaats.nl/a/audio-tv-en-foto/fotografie-camera-s-digitaal/m1002316771-nikon-d700-body-4-batterijen.html?c=be2da871b0d84f75c3056cc6db858f31&previousPage=lr (It’s a site where people can offer 2nd hand stuff; never used it.) The SONY A7 is a good camera; the 24 MP sensor delivers a bit more detail and more ‘crop-space’. 6400 ISO shots feel a bit better than those from the D700. In low light the AF can not compete with the D700; slower and less direct; which can be said for the burst-mode as well. I don’t think Nikon will come up with a 12 MP DSLR. I have considered a D600; but I didn’t like the dirty sensor rumors. I think the D750 is the true D700 successor and a very good camera. See you!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Harrie, my friend, thank you very much indeed for all this detail. I had a feeling about the A7’s low light and autofocus capabilities – which are things I value very much in the D700. No, you’re right, Nikon are not going to make another 12MP DSLR. I’ve thought about the D600 too – but of course re the dirty sensor rumours, there’s now the D610, which may have rectified them. And yes, I’ve thought about the D750 – its highest in my estimation at the moment, although it only has “one button under my tight thumb”, the AF-ON button, instead of two. Still thinking about it! Thank you again. Adrian 🙂

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

