MENDIP HILLS 39 – TYRES (MONO)

 

 

tyres-mono
.

Tyre dump at Tyning’s Gate Barns, southeast of Shipham; 17 Oct 2004.

Well, to me, what is there here?  Such a composition could lack a focal point – though saying that a focal point is by no means a “must have” feature of all images.  But here there is the larger tyre flush with the right hand edge of the frame and – more so – the huge and rugged tractor tyre to the left of it, with a highlight along its curved and chunky rim.  If there is a focal point here, that tractor tyre is it.

Then, moving left again, there are the gaping black holes in the centres of rather smaller and more commonplace tyres – open mouths wailing in anguish???  In our world today, quite possibly so.

And then, out to the left margin from there, the shapes of the tyres distort and merge into abstraction – hopefully(!) pushing our eyes back into the more ordered and comprehensible centre of things … which is where we like to be?

OM-4 with 300mm Zuiko; tripod; Fuji Velvia 50 colour slide; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Dramatic preset; rotated 90 degrees anticlockwise.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to MENDIP HILLS 39 – TYRES (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    My eye goes to the round tyre slightly left of center – so go figure! 😉

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Going and figuring now, Lynn … we are all different is the universal truth. And that tyre is slightly larger than those around it and paler too. Thanks for the insight! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  2. I got ‘tired’ of looking at this so I moved on.
    Ugh! You must be in ‘anguish’ over my corny joke. I don’t blame you!
    Actually I see what you’re saying about the focal point. You really inspire me to be more observant. One (and there are many) of the reasons that I admire about your photography and your narrations. You are a master at your craft and a true wordsmith.
    With much fondness and respect. G
    Alias ATP
    XXX

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      My friend, its good to hear from you. And tired? >>> well then I’m in anguish with myself too as I thought of just the same thing – it almost went on the post!!! 😀

      I’m glad you like my words (I enjoy writing them) and – especially so – that you find them useful. The reason why I go into detail with things like the focal point is for those who might like to see a little more into an image and its structure, especially those photographers who may be interested in more than the bland title – “Tyre dump; Mendip Hills” and some technical data.

      Thank you for your very good words, ATP. I hope very much that things are going steadily for you. ATP xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Yes, indeed, the world is wailing with anguish , is what I thought!! Lovely light on the inner rim , I like the viewpoint you found. super post, imo.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

