FANTASY 34 – ADVERT FOR SHINGLE BEACH AND CLOUDY SKY

 

 

advert-for-shingle-beach-and-cloudy-sky
.
FANTASY: well, what the title says – with a desperate stab at modernity,  “It does what it says in the title!“.  And maybe its The Advertising Of The Future – after all, if you place your empty hoarding in front of what you’re advertising, you do away with the need for the actual advert …

REALITY: empty advertising / information display on the beach at West Bay, Dorset; 5 Oct 2005.  Right from the moment I pressed the OM-4’s (wonderfully quiet) shutter release, the quest with this image was for unreality.  And so, using my little telezoom (how I miss those tiny Zuiko lenses!), all else but the empty display, beach and sky was cropped out of the frame – and knowing that Fuji’s wonderful colour slide film was going to be push processed by two stops, I knew that the resulting colours might well be more … imaginative … than true …

And finally, a decade later, a little (but only a little) tweaking in CEP4.

If your eyes can stand it – no free sunglasses on this blog! –  you can see a larger version of this image by clicking onto it.

OM-4 with 75-150 Zuiko at 150mm; Fuji Provia 400 colour slide rated at 1600 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to FANTASY 34 – ADVERT FOR SHINGLE BEACH AND CLOUDY SKY

  1. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    Fantasy or reality – you know which one I prefer. This is so surreal and makes me think of Salvador Dalí and some of René Magritte. I have always been fascinated by surrealism. I remember the first time I saw Salvador Dalì’s artwork in a book and I was scared… (I must have been 7 or 8 years old) but I couldn’t stop looking. It was mesmerizing…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Haha! >>> yes, I know which one you prefer, my friend! I’m a Dali fan too – his drooping clocks are framed above our mantelpiece – and I like Magritte. Thanks for your good thoughts. A 🙂

      Like

  2. paula graham says:

    oh…rather ‘futuristic’ and very modern..Andy Warhol would be proud of you and so am I!! I love it

    Like

  3. What you see is what you get. No extra or bonus? ☺

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

