ARCHIVE 194 – HANDRAIL AND SHADOW

 

 

ADL48X
.
Handrail on steps at The Point, Bristol harbourside; 11 Apr 2004.

Minimalist –  just the handrail and its shadow. The separation between the end of the handrail and its shadow is important, I think it improves the shot – cover this gap with your finger to see what I mean.

This might also look good in mono – maybe with the vivid blue restored.

OM-4 with 50mm Zuiko; Fuji Provia 400 colour slide, rated at 3200 ISO.

UPDATE: the sort of picture I took lots of once upon a time.  Having done all I wanted to with birding, which had dominated my life for 35 years, I resolved to get into photography in a more purposeful way.  Early in 2003 I acquired an Olympus OM-4 SLR, which I started using with the Zuiko lenses – 28mm, 50mm, 75mm-150mm – that were still around from my earlier Olympus OM-1 days.

I became enthusiastic for abstract compositions and found Bristol city centre a rich source.  The diminutive Olympus gear was ideal for carrying around the city and, unlike with digital cameras, there were never any worries about changing the lenses however bad the weather – film cameras got a clean, new sensor every time the film was changed.

Having colour slides (transparencies) push processed (by +3EV in the example above) became something of an obsession.   I loved the high contrast, grainy and rather false colour images it produced, and these attributes sat well with abstracts.  And then of course it also made for smaller apertures and higher shutter speeds, which were a godsend in poor light.  I was very, very pleasantly surprised at how colour slide film quality and speeds had improved over the years  – all of which makes me sound rather like a museum piece I suppose, which is fine, although it is a little airless in this glass case …

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

11 Responses to ARCHIVE 194 – HANDRAIL AND SHADOW

  1. Meanderer says:

    I love the electric blue colour, and the way the shadow is a softer, less angular, version of the original!

    Like

  2. excellent abstract pattern and yes very minimalist but so effective.

    Like

  3. sheldonk2014 says:

    Thank you for your like Adrian
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  4. paula graham says:

    Like your photo a lot, something we all see, but take no notice off. The shadow’s head looks a bit like a bird’s head to me. Interesting post too.

    Like

  5. athyfoto says:

    I really like your picture and also enjoyed reading the post. Good analogy with film and digital sensors, made me smile. By the way, I’m in the glass case just to your left 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m very glad you enjoy this, Frank – thank you! I have to be upfront and say that digital photography has let me become far more creative with photography than film ever could but, nevertheless, I still do sometimes have hankerings for those rather simpler days – and especially so for whipping lenses off and on the camera as and when the need arose, with barely a thought about doing it. And those Zuiko lenses were so good quality, compact and handy. One thing we can take heart from – it must be quite an up market museum to have us both in it … 😉 …

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

