ARCHIVE 190 – YOUNG VIOLINIST (MONO)

 

 

daw_235aX
.

Young violinist; 9 Sept 2012.

I’ve mentioned before that I’m fortunate in having four darling little girls in my life.  Two are our granddaughters, the other two the children of friends.  Yesterday we went to visit those friends, so that my wife could measure the kids for knitware that she is giving them for Christmas.

As is usual when I get together with these little ones, who are now aged 7 and 2, mayhem and anarchy reigned!  Within minutes of arriving, I was down on my hands and knees on the kitchen floor, giving a ride to the two delighted and squealing monsters, and things just got better from there on in.  But I have no aches or pains this morning – must be tougher than I thought!

And the family have a beautiful new cat, who seems to have a very calm and friendly personality.

Rather than high structure and contrast, I was looking for a softer, more delicate image here – something to suit a young girl bathed in window light.  I’ve never used it before but the Gold Toner does it – the result is rather like a sepia tone.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 1250 ISO; converted to mono with Silver Efex Pro 2, using the Gold Toner preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to ARCHIVE 190 – YOUNG VIOLINIST (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    So perfect – you chose wisely! I hope mom and dad have a print!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, they have a print, and a copy of the file too – they have been very good about allowing me to photograph their daughters, whom I’ve known since their births, and I’ve given them many photobooks, made on Blurb, of my pictures. Thanks for your good thoughts, Lynn! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  2. a beautiful portrait!

    Like

  3. I like how the light in the background on the wall? shows the wisp of hair falling in front of her. Great capture, but then, it’s you. 😉
    ATP
    XXX

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Adrian , you certainly achieved the delicate feel you wanted for this photo. Lovely. Nothing better for children than to learn to play an instrument..later in life they may come back to it if they do not have the patience for it now. Great Stuff and yes, see you tomorrow!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, I’m glad you like it so much – thank you! Amongst other things, if a young person plays an instrument, it can be the passport to having many interesting and creative friends later in life. Yes, see you at (high???) noon! My email is again out – and a friend tells me he’s having trouble with his too. See you! A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

