BRISTOL 97 – AUTUMN LEAF

 

 

autumn-leaf
.
Autumn leaf and the shadow of traffic lights, beside the busy road at Broad Quay; 20 Oct 2015.

Everything gently converges towards upper right, and the lights’ shadow and the leaf compete for my attention – my eyes switch back and fore between them, I cannot choose one over the other.

The leaf is from one of the city’s many Plane trees.  The feel of the pink and textured pavement warns those with poor (or no) sight that they are on the edge of the road – the black tarmac is just seen at top left.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 28mm (equivalent); 100 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to BRISTOL 97 – AUTUMN LEAF

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Beautiful shot Adrian. Sorry I’ve been away for so long!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh don’t worry, Lynn, no apologies needed at all – I’m as guilty as anyone for late responses to posts – I do still enjoy blogging very much but, after – is it 4 years? – I’m rarely up to the minute on what’s appearing. Its very good to be in touch with you and I do enjoy your blog. Thanks for your appreciation here! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    My brain and my eyes are playing tug-of-war again.
    My eyes tell me that the bobbled pavement is a step, the upright causing the shadow, then my brain catches up and says don’t be silly, it’s the shadow from the traffic lights and I can see the box with the button and wait sign on it.
    Then my brain gets distracted for a few seconds and my eyes go.. Look a step!!!
    I’d better move on, I’m starting to get that goldfish feeling again. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, as Mike Jagger so succinctly put it, “You’d better move on” … But tell me, this goldfish feeling of your’s, do you feel bowled over at all …??? …

      But, nevertheless, I do see what you mean about a step, so there! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sallyann says:

        Ha ha yes, bowled over indeed.
        But I shall be keenly watching someone else world through glass very shortly…I’m well on the way to another pet. Since Alice, its taken a long time for me to feel confident enough to take enough to take on the responsibility of another.
        I’m calling her Pollyanna, a long wiggly name which makes me smile…
        Pollyanna Python. 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Are we actually talking about Large Things Reptilian here??? If we are, them I’m sure Pollyanna will have a crush on you and, looking at it on the bright side, at least you’ll be able to sell the nutcrackers before Cribble … should get a good price …

          And if we are actually talking the real thing, I seem to remember them as being extremely large in Kenya, extremely large as in blocking roads – and also as in my late mother-in-law sinking a machete into one in mistake for the dead branch of a tree …

          And how will you get it out if it gets into Sylvia Saxophone? Vaseline? A tyre leaver? Or by giving it a tune … ? ….. 😀 …..

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sallyann says:

            Ha ha, we are talking real, but royally real. A royal Python only grows to about five to six foot long, and not much rounder than a golf ball. They’re pretty slow moving and their attack is defence, they roll into a ball and tuck their head in. 🙂
            Sylva? … Harley, has been moved to a different room, just incase. 🙂

            Like

  3. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    Loneliness… Very well seen, my friend.

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Now, that one leaf tells me the time of year, rather like a haiku would.

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

