BRISTOL 96 – AUTUMN WALKER (MONO)

 

 

autumn-walker-mono
.
Castle Park, in the city centre; 20 Oct 2015.

Well, what is here?  A park bench, silhouetted, that has been styled to defeat both vandalism and rough sleepers.  It has signally failed in the former, its right hand end having been broken off – I suppose by someone jumping up and down on it.

And then a walker, an anonymous someone going somewhere; though not to this bench, as I can testify.

And the first fallen leaves of autumn scattered on the ground.

What is least apparent of all is the wall glimpsed behind those striding legs, which is a part the gaunt skeleton of St Peter’s Church, burnt out by incendiary bombs in 1940 and now preserved as a memorial to the city’s WWII civilian dead.

I have been going through something of an uninspired patch with my photography, things just haven’t been flowing as freely as usual.  I’d gone down to town to hear a lecture on, of all things, the institutionalised treatment of inebriated women in days gone by.  But it was a lovely sunny morning and the little camera was in my pocket, so I opted instead for a quartet of favourite pastimes, namely strolling, looking and taking photos, and then buying some Belgian beer of great quality – compared to a lecture, all things far more uplifting for the soul!

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (equivalent); 100 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Architectural preset and adding a slightly blue tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to BRISTOL 96 – AUTUMN WALKER (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    As the leaves fall, anything which does not lift the soul should be avoided….
    Lecture? … institutionalised treatment of inebriated women in days gone by ?!?!
    I’m glad you thought better of it. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh god you’re right about avoiding things that don’t lift the soul, never a truer word said. But even as I jab at this ancient keyboard, which has quite a few of its letters worn off so that I just have to jab and jope fot tat gest, a lorry bearing a crate of superb Belgian beers has been toiling its way across England overnight, such that I am destined for yet another taste EXPLOSION this pm, and that’s certainly soul raising … big time … 😉 …

      Liked by 1 person

  2. krikitarts says:

    A benchmark abstract. I like very much that you’ve included the moving legs at upper left and left the fallen leaves in the fore- and mid-ground. I might have chosen a warmer tone, but your blue certainly adds very well to the mood you intended to convey. Wish I’d been there to share the experience–and the Belgian beer!

    Like

  3. glad you brought your camera and were inspired!!

    Like

  4. icastel says:

    Mystery bench with a mystery walker. I like the whole atmosphere of it. It seems like skipping the lecture was inspirational 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad it gets to you, Igor, thank you! Inspirational is the word! I’m a great one for planning things, but in many instances, doing things on the spur of the moment is far more enjoyable! A 🙂

      Like

  5. Truels says:

    Fine perspective. A brilliant idea to place these legs on top of the picture!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, Truels, that’s very good to hear! The legs really help, I think; they add Life and interest, and without them the image would be virtually an inanimate abstract. Adrian

      Like

  6. You need to go out there and find more VW’s. LOL. Now THAT inspires me. 😉
    ATP
    XXX

    Like

  7. paula graham says:

    Interesting, mysterious photo, I like the tone you added.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, mysterious, that’s what I was aiming at – glad you agree! I was thinking of a full blown cyanotype tone but that would have been overkill maybe – this slight tinge cools it, and also adds to the unreality perhaps. Thanks for your thoughts. A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

