BIRDS 78 – A CREATURE OF GREAT BEAUTY

 

 

adult-herring-gull
.
Adult Herring Gull, resting in glorious sunshine, beside the harbour at West Bay, Dorset; 21 Apr 2015.

Immaculate!  An inveterate and highly aggressive and successful scavenger, thief and killer. 

And, at the same time, a creature of vast natural beauty.

So what skews our judgement of him – if we are fit to judge – what he does or what he is?  After all, if beauty is function, even the Spotted Hyaena is beautiful.

But of course – as regular readers of this blog will know – when it comes to gulls I’m biased!

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to BIRDS 78 – A CREATURE OF GREAT BEAUTY

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Yes, he’s prideful here, and rightly so!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sallyann says:

    Biased here too, I can think of no better sound to wake up to than the call of seagulls floating in on a salty breeze. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like how the shadow gives him more depth. He is a work of art. ❤️ ATP xxx

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    He certainly is all the above..I must say, I prefer the spotted Hyaena but that is personal preference! Although I am close to sea, or the channel, I do not see much of them, they prefer to hound the tourist’s kids and take their chips, and …why not!!! Nice light on your gull

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hounding tourists is easy for them – maybe gulls come in to you more in bad weather, or when fields are being ploughed? I saw Hyaenas a lot in Kenya – and two stories about them concern their chewing through metal landing lights around an airfield – together with the advice that, if sleeping under a vehicle out in the bush, it best to be feet-outwards, to avoid having your face bitten off by these lovelies! Ah, happy days ….

      Like

    • paula graham says:

      I raised a chick once, fed it on chicken and fish, taught it to fly and it flew off to join a group flying high over my place, but circled and looked me in the eye before it finally went.

      Like

  5. Dennis says:

    Herring gulls are indeed very beautiful, I like the red spot on the orange bill. I like birds, this is a beautiful shot!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Dennis, thank you – glad you agree about the beauty of these birds, they have something of a bad reputation here in the UK! But I was brought up by the sea, and they were always a part of my life. And I was a very enthusiastic birdwatcher for over 30 years, and for me birds are still an essential part of things. Adrian

      Liked by 2 people

      • Dennis says:

        That desciption would fit to pigeons too I think, they are disliked as well. Here in Germany when I walk through the city and take a photo of a pigeon, people look at me with a big question mark on the head like “Why does he take a picture of these flying rats?”, To be honest, I don’t get that, you can find beauty in a lot of things, I do even think spiders are beautiful (I saw some awesome macroshot taken by another person, he achieved it to make them look like little cute monsters). I think photography is teaching us to respect our nature, and we open our eyes again (like we did as childs), to find all the beauty, even if we do this with a lens 😉

        I am grown up and still live near the baltic cost, so, we have something in common when we speak about the sea, I understand you.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, people see pigeons in that category too – and I’ve heard of “flying rats”, and “rats with wings” too. I very much agree with you – there is beauty everywhere in the natural world, and, yes, trying to look at things in the way that children do is really something that we as photographers – and as people too – should aim at. Thank you very much for your thoughts, Dennis, we think along very similar lines. Adrian 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

      • tech189 says:

        Yeah, damn, do they have a bad reputation here!

        Like

  6. tech189 says:

    Have you ever thought about posting your pictures to 500px? They’re really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well, first of all, thank you very much for the compliment – that’s really good to hear! I have had thoughts about posting images elsewhere but have never got any further than thinking about it. Do you recommend 500px – I have heard of it, and would be glad to hear why you recommend it. A

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

