SOMERSET LEVELS 240 – THE CHARACTER OF THE PLACE (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

the-character-of-the-place
.
Makeshift gate, Godney Moor, south of Wedmore; 14 Sept 2015.

The area of the Somerset Levels that I mainly frequent is quite unexceptional but eminently real.  It is simply rough, open, working farmland, mostly damp pasture, and there is quite a bit of agricultural rubbish lying around, including abandoned vehicles, deserted peat workings, disintegrating barns, and so on. 

And I value this area for its complete lack of prettification and (horror of horrors!) gentrification.  Warts and all, it is real.  It not someone’s confected ideal of how countryside should look, it is simply how it does look, and that means a lot to me.

And maybe this hasty, makeshift repair of a field gate, held together by twine, sums up this place up.  Long may it remain so.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 3200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Film Noir 1 preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 240 – THE CHARACTER OF THE PLACE (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    I see a couple… (if you ask me) and they are doing everything it takes to make things work in their relationship.

    Great image!

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Character yes, as much as I am a fan of pretty, the world would immensely boring without character. I’ve been wandering along canals in Wolverhampton this weekend and have managed to find a surprising number of pretty shots, but it’s the graffiti and litter which lend to the more characterful pictures. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I know what you mean. And talking of our mutual love of gull calls, I had a great encounter recently in a services on the M4 near Reading. As well as gulls, I have a great love for Rooks, which are of course mainly rural birds – only as I was sitting in the services’ carpark gulping down a dear (had to get another mortgage…) but not bad sandwich, what should appear at my side, eyeing said sandwich, was not a gull or Carrion Crow, but a Rook – I’ve never been so close to one! – absolutely wonderful!!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Where would we be without bailer twine

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I agree – and without your earlier comment I wouldn’t even have known that it IS bailer twine – so thank you! Its pretty ubiquitous down on the Levels, its used for makeshift repairs all over the place. A

      Liked by 1 person

  4. that touch of colour!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like this shot a lot, Adrian; there is quite some sadness in these sober objects.

    Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Super pic, I know the area and like it lots, once again, the prefered method by farmers all over the UK, of mending fences is here on show!

    Like

  7. tech189 says:

    Thanks for stopping by at my blog!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

