ARCHIVE 184 – THREE SMALL CREATURES

 

 

rfg_035cX
.
Gulls flying over our garden; 7 Jan 2010.

Being Minimalist in general outlook – less is more and simple is definitely beautiful!!! –  I love the reduction here to pure silhouette, as well as the different flight attitudes of these three individuals.

D700 with long end of a 70mm-300mm Nikkor; 1600 ISO.

UPDATE: this was posted over four years ago, and there’s no doubt that my visual tastes have altered, if only a little, in that time.  Now, seeing these three small silhouettes surrounded by all of that white – and bearing in mind too that my blog has a white background – I wondered about adding a thin, dark border to the image – to contain and delineate it I suppose.  Or, then again, I considered making these silhouettes larger in the frame.

But, thinking these ideas over, I rejected them.  Why?  Because I value the impression that this picture gives of these three small creatures moving through – and being completely at home in – all of that air, all of that atmosphere, all of that otherwise empty sky.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

16 Responses to ARCHIVE 184 – THREE SMALL CREATURES

  1. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    Very graphic and I love it.

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    I’m all for Keep it Simple! Minimalistic can be very effective and you’ve succeeded here!

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Yea, I like it as given..otherwise they become like the three ducks on everyone’s stair wall.

    Like

  4. elyaslinley says:

    did you make that

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

